Skip to main content
Back

Asia-Pacific REITs

Asia-Pacific REITs (AP REITs) posted solid gains in 2019 on the back of an accommodative interest rate environment, strong operating results, and robust capital inflows. Moving into 2020, we believe that these trends should continue, providing investors continued opportunities in the asset class. In this 2020 outlook, Hui Min Ng, Portfolio Manager, outlines why the income sustainability component of REITs will be key for investors for the coming year, as well as which markets and property segments should be bright spots for investors.

Accommodative interest rate environment and resilient operating performance drove returns in 2019

AP REITs performed strongly in 2019 as the listed REITs in the region continued to show growth (organically and inorganically).  REIT markets in Singapore and Australia led the overall market higher, while the REIT segments of industrial, specialised, and office were the top sector performers1

From a macro perspective, an accommodative global and regional interest rate environment supported performance. G3 central banks set a dovish tone2, followed by numerous regional central banks in markets with REITs.

Lower rates, coupled with subdued economic growth forecasts, have resulted in a widening swath of negative yields for developed market bonds. This attracted capital inflows into the region, which further supported REIT prices. 

From a market perspective, REITs gains were driven by numerous positive catalysts. Property fundamentals remained strong as REITs in the Asia-Pacific region reported decent growth in operating metrics3 and distributable income, while occupancy rates also remained high4. Finally, numerous REIT accretive acquisitions also boosted future growth prospects.

Income sustainability key in 2020  

Moving into 2020, we believe these tailwinds should continue: accommodative monetary policy, moderate inflation, with a potential uptick in economic growth. Based on the market gains of 2019, we believe that investors should focus on the income component of REIT returns in 2020. Indeed, consistency and predictability of distribution is one of the key merits of AP REITs. As sustainability of yield continues to grow in importance, we believe that the sound fundamentals of certain segments of the physical real estate market should provide REITs the ability to deliver consistent income to investors.

Markets in Singapore, Hong Kong, and Australia can offer attractive opportunities in 2020 

We are constructive on REIT opportunities in the following key markets and segments: 

Singapore: Retail and office

Singapore narrowly averted technical recession in 20195, but the government believes growth will modestly strengthen in 2020 given the growth outlook for Singapore’s key final demand markets, and the projected recovery in the global electronics cycle in the year ahead6. With capital inflows to Singaporean REITS remaining supportive, we are comfortable with general valuation levels in the market.

  • Retail: Historically, rental rates in Singapore’s retail sector have been defensive and resilient; we expect this trend to continue. Indeed, median rental pricing trends over the past three years have remained steady despite increasing economic volatility.  Furthermore, a notable increase in supply in 2019 was well digested by the market, with forecasts of new supply coming in the pipeline remain relatively limited in the next three years7. Besides, we will also be closely watching the trajectory of “omni-channel”8 and experiential retail strategies, which we think should be supportive for the retail segment.
  • Office: Overall, the supply and demand dynamics are expected to remain positive in 2020.  While demand has softened, we believe spot rents can hold up as net supply remains low. Some existing central business district (CBD) supply will be removed from the market due to re-development under the government’s Urban Renewal Project. We expect that rental reversions should continue to stay positive as current spot rates are higher (over the past three years office rents have moved higher)9.

Hong Kong: Office and retail

Hong Kong’s economy experienced a challenging year in 2019 and we’re still monitoring its trajectory for 2020.  That said, we’re still constructive on more defensive plays in the office and retail segments.

  • Office: As corporates move their offices from traditional business centres, we continue to focus on opportunities in decentralised Grade-A office space given the notable spot rent differentials with more traditional business districts (e.g. Central). 
  • Retail: Although retail sales have notably contracted in Hong Kong, the performance of Hong Kong REITs has a fairly low correlation with retail sales10.  We are currently constructive on shopping malls that are geared towards meeting consumers’ everyday needs such as supermarkets and food rather than luxury offerings. These properties are more resilient and defensive in an economic downturn.

Australia: Office and industrial

Despite the Reserve Bank of Australia’s monetary easing in 2019, we are closely watching if it flows through to boost the real economy. With economic activity depressed and unemployment levels elevated, we are looking for opportunities in well-established segments.

  • Office: Supply and demand dynamics are currently favourable in the office segment. This is particularly true for Grade-A office space in Sydney’s CBD area, where limited new supply is forecast over the next two years11.
  • Industrial: Third-party logistics and e-commerce firms are the main source of demand in this segment, which is gradually digesting excess supply. 

Conclusion 

Overall, we expect many of the supportive trends we saw 2019 should continue to underpin to AP REITs in 2020. The favorable macro backdrop should allow REITs in the region to further enlarge their asset bases for future growth.  

Given the transparency of REIT portfolios, we see few risks to rental income, as positive rental reversions and robust occupancy rates should continue in 2020. This backdrop should result in a stable and highly secured distribution income for shareholders.

Hui Min Ng, Portfolio Manager
  1. Bloomberg, as of 30 September 2019. Market performance represents the arithmetic average of all listed REITS in the individual market.  Segment performance represents the performance of all listed REITS regionally for the segment.  
  2. The US Federal Reserve (Fed) retreated, cutting rates after nine increases between 2015 and 2018. The European Central Bank decided to reignite its QE programme less than a year after pausing it. The Bank of Japan reminded investors that its negative-rate policy could go beyond the current minus-0.1%. 
  3. Manulife Investment Management, company websites, as of 30 September 2019.
  4. Manulife Investment Management, company websites, as of 30 September 2019.
  5. The Singapore economy grew by 0.5% on a year-on-year basis in the third quarter, slightly higher than the 0.2% growth in the previous quarter. Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI), Singapore, as of 21 November 2019.
  6. MTI expects growth in the Singapore economy to pick up modestly in 2020 as compared to 2019, 21 November 2019.
  7. URA, Release of first quarter 2019 Real Estate Statistics, from 30 June 2015 to 31 March 2019.  
  8. Offline to online.
  9. Capitaland Commercial Trust, Nov 2019.
  10. Bloomberg, from 31 August 2016 to 31 August 2019.  
  11. JLL, Research Actual and Dexus Research Forecast, 6 February 2019. 

Disclaimers

Investing involves risks, including the potential loss of principal. Financial markets are volatile and can fluctuate significantly in response to company, industry, political, regulatory, market, or economic developments. These risks are magnified for investments made in emerging markets. Currency risk is the risk that fluctuations in exchange rates may adversely affect the value of a portfolio’s investments.

The information provided does not take into account the suitability, investment objectives, financial situation, or particular needs of any specific person. You should consider the suitability of any type of investment for your circumstances and, if necessary, seek professional advice.

This material, intended for the exclusive use by the recipients who are allowable to receive this document under the applicable laws and regulations of the relevant jurisdictions, was produced by, and the opinions expressed are those of, Manulife Investment Management as of the date of this publication, and are subject to change based on market and other conditions. The information and/or analysis contained in this material have been compiled or arrived at from sources believed to be reliable, but Manulife Investment Management does not make any representation as to their accuracy, correctness, usefulness, or completeness and does not accept liability for any loss arising from the use of the information and/or analysis contained. The information in this material may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events, targets, management discipline, or other expectations, and is only as current as of the date indicated. The information in this document, including statements concerning financial market trends, are based on current market conditions, which will fluctuate and may be superseded by subsequent market events or for other reasons. Manulife Investment Management disclaims any responsibility to update such information.

Neither Manulife Investment Management or its affiliates, nor any of their directors, officers or employees shall assume any liability or responsibility for any direct or indirect loss or damage or any other consequence of any person acting or not acting in reliance on the information contained herein. All overviews and commentary are intended to be general in nature and for current interest. While helpful, these overviews are no substitute for professional tax, investment or legal advice. Clients should seek professional advice for their particular situation. Neither Manulife, Manulife Investment Management, nor any of their affiliates or representatives is providing tax, investment or legal advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. This material was prepared solely for informational purposes, does not constitute a recommendation, professional advice, an offer or an invitation by or on behalf of Manulife Investment Management to any person to buy or sell any security or adopt any investment strategy, and is no indication of trading intent in any fund or account managed by Manulife Investment Management. No investment strategy or risk management technique can guarantee returns or eliminate risk in any market environment. Diversification or asset allocation does not guarantee a profit nor protect against loss in any market. Unless otherwise specified, all data is sourced from Manulife Investment Management.

Manulife Investment Management

Manulife Investment Management is the global wealth and asset management segment of Manulife Financial Corporation. We draw on more than 150 years of financial stewardship to partner with clients across our institutional, retail, and retirement businesses globally. Our specialist approach to money management includes the highly differentiated strategies of our fixed-income, specialized equity, multi-asset solutions, and private markets teams—along with access to specialized, unaffiliated asset managers from around the world through our multimanager model.

These materials have not been reviewed by, are not registered with any securities or other regulatory authority, and may, where appropriate, be distributed by the following Manulife entities in their respective jurisdictions. Additional information about Manulife Investment Management may be found at www.manulifeam.com.

Australia: Hancock Natural Resource Group Australasia Pty Limited, Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Brazil: Hancock Asset Management Brasil Ltda. Canada: Manulife Investment Management Limited, Manulife Investment Management Distributors Inc., Manulife Investment Management (North America) Limited, Manulife Investment Management Private Markets (Canada) Corp. China: Manulife Overseas Investment Fund Management (Shanghai) Limited Company. European Economic Area and United Kingdom: Manulife Investment Management (Europe) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, Manulife Investment Management (Ireland) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. Hong Kong: Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Indonesia: PT Manulife Aset Manajemen Indonesia. Japan: Manulife Asset Management (Japan) Limited. Malaysia: Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad (formerly known as Manulife Asset Management Services Berhad) 200801033087 (834424-U). Philippines: Manulife Asset Management and Trust Corporation. Singapore: Manulife Investment Management (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. (Company Registration No. 200709952G). Switzerland: Manulife IM (Switzerland) LLC. Taiwan: Manulife Investment Management (Taiwan) Co. Ltd. Thailand: Manulife Asset Management (Thailand) Company Limited. United States: John Hancock Investment Management LLC, Manulife Investment Management (US) LLC, Hancock Capital Investment Management, LLC and Hancock Natural Resource Group, Inc. Vietnam: Manulife Investment Fund Management (Vietnam) Company Limited. 

Manulife Investment Management, the Stylized M Design, and Manulife Investment Management & Stylized M Design are trademarks of The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company and are used by it, and by its affiliates under license. 

505985

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回

亞太房地產投資信託

在利率寬鬆、營運業績強勁及資金穩健流入的環境下,亞太房地產投資信託(「亞太房託」)在2019年錄得可觀升幅。邁向2020年,我們認為上述趨勢應可維持,繼續為投資者提供房託投資機會。在本文2020年前景展望中,投資組合經理黃惠敏在本文概述為何房託的收益可持續元素將成為今年投資關鍵,以及哪些市場和房地產領域應可成為投資亮點。

利率環境寬鬆、營運表現強韌皆推動去年回報 

亞太房託在2019年表現強勁,受息於在區內上市的房託持續展現增長(自身業務及收購合併)。  新加坡和澳洲房託市場帶動整體亞太房託市場上升,以工業、專項和辦公室領域的房託表現最佳1

從宏觀角度而言,環球和地區利率環境寬鬆,為表現帶來支持。三大工業國央行持溫和立場2,其後亞太區內多個擁有房託的市場央行相繼跟隨。

利率低企,加上經濟增長預測疲弱,導致愈來愈多已發展市場債券的孳息率跌至負數,這個情況吸引資金流入亞太區,為房託價格帶來進一步支持。

從市場角度而言,多項正面因素刺激房託上升。房地產基本因素依然強勁,因為亞太區房託在營運指標3和可分派收益方面錄得可觀增長,而且出租率維持高位4。此外,多項房託的增值收購交易亦提升未來增長前景。

收益的可持續性成2020年的關鍵

邁向2020年,我們相信這些利好因素應可持續:貨幣政策維持寬鬆、通脹處於溫和水平及經濟增長可能回升。有鑑於2019年市場已累積一定升幅,我們認為投資者應在2020年,應更專注於房託回報的收益元素。事實上,收益分派持續穩定和預測性高,是亞太房託的兩大主要優勢。隨著收益可持續性顯得日益重要,我們相信,部份基本因素穩健的房地產領域,應能帶動其房託為投資者締造持續穩定的收益。

新加坡、香港和澳洲可在今年提供吸引的機遇 

我們看好下列主要市場和領域的房託機遇: 

新加坡:零售和辦公室

新加坡在2019年僅僅避過了陷入技術性經濟衰退5,根據當地政府預測2020年經濟增長會溫和增加,主要建基於兩項預期:對最終需求市場增長前景、未來一年環球電子產品周期的預期復甦趨勢6。鑑於目前環境仍支持資金流入新加坡房託,因此我們認為市場整體估值水平不屬於過高。 

  • 零售:一直以來,新加坡零售業的租金具防守性和表現強韌,我們預期這個趨勢應會持續。事實上,雖然當地經濟更趨波動,但過去三年的租金定價中位數趨勢保持穩定。此外,市場已很大程度消化了2019年的供應的顯著增長,更進一步來說,未來三年有待發展的新供應預測,仍屬於相對有限7。 另外,我們亦將密切注視「全渠道」8及體驗式零售策略的發展趨勢,並認為這應有利零售領域的表現。
  • 辦公室:整體來說,預計供求動力將於2020年保持正面。雖然需求已見轉弱,但淨供應仍然低企,因此市值租金仍可望上升。政府根據市區重建計劃重新發展土地,因此部份現有核心商業區的市場供應將會消失。我們對房託簽訂的新租約之租金率保持正面看法,目前市值租金高於即將到期的租金(過去三年辦公室租金持續上升)9

香港:辦公室與零售

香港經濟在2019年備受挑戰,我們仍注視2020年的經濟發展。我們仍看好辦公室和零售領域內防守性較強的公司。 

  • 辦公室:隨著企業把辦公室遷出傳統商業中心,我們繼續專注非核心商業區內甲級辦公室所帶來的機遇,因為這些地區的市值租金與較傳統商業區(例如中環)相比存在顯著差距。
  • 零售:雖然香港的零售銷售大幅收縮,但香港房託表現與零售銷售的相關性相當低10。我們目前看好可滿足消費者日常需要的購物中心,例如超級市場和食品,而非高檔產品。這類購物中心在經濟逆轉期間較為強韌和較具防守性。  

澳洲:辦公室與工業

雖然澳洲儲備銀行在2019年放寬貨幣政策,但我們正密切注視其舉措是否有助刺激實質經濟。由於經濟活動受壓及失業率上升,我們致力在發展完備的領域尋求機遇。 

  • 辦公室:供求動力目前有利辦公室房託,特別是悉尼核心商業區內的甲級辦公室,預計未來兩年的新供應有限11
  • 工業:第三方物流和電子商貿公司是這類房託的主要需求來源,並正逐步消化過度供應。

總結

整體來說,預料2019年的多項利好趨勢應繼續在2020年支持亞太房託。宏觀環境維持有利,應可讓區內房託進一步擴大資產基礎,實現未來增長。  

房託投資組合的透明度偏高,我們認為租金收入面對的風險不多,新租約租金率調整趨勢正面、出租率維持強勁等情況應在2020年持續,以上種種因素應為股東帶來穩定和獲較高度保障的分派收益。 

黃惠敏, 投資組合經理
  1. 彭博資訊,截至2019年9月30日。市場表現是指個別市場內所有上市房託的算術平均值。領域表現是指有關領域內所有上市房託在區內市場的表現。  
  2. 美國聯儲局在2015年至2018年期間共加息九次,其後暫停,並開始減息。歐洲央行暫停量寬不到一年便決定重啟買債計劃。日本央行提醒投資者當局或會擴大負利率政策,令利率低於現時的-0.1%。 
  3. 宏利投資管理、公司網站,截至2019年9月30日。
  4. 宏利投資管理、公司網站,截至2019年9月30日。
  5. 新加坡經濟在第三季按年增長0.5%,略高於上一季的0.2%增幅。新加坡貿易與工業部,截至2019年11月21日。
  6. 貿易與工業部預料與2019年相比,新加坡經濟增長將於2020年溫和回升,2019年11月21日。
  7. 新加坡市區重建局,2019年第一季房地產統計數據公布,資料由2015年6月30日截至2019年3月31日。  
  8. 線下與線上協作的模式。
  9. Capitaland Commercial Trust,2019年11月。
  10. 彭博資訊,由2016年8月31日至2019年8月31日。  
  11. JLL Research 實際數據及Dexus Research預測,2019年2月6日。 

免責聲明

宏利投資管理是宏利金融的環球財富及資產管理分部。本文件只供相關司法權區適用法例及規例容許收取本文件的收件人使用,內容由宏利投資管理編製,當中的觀點為撰寫文件當日的意見,並可予以更改。宏利投資管理乃根據其認為可靠的來源編匯或得出本文件的資料及/或分析,惟對其準確性、正確性、有用性及完整性概不發表任何聲明,對因使用有關資料及/或分析而引致的任何損失亦概不負責。有關組合的投資項目、資產分配或於不同國家分布的投資均屬過往的資料,並非日後投資組合的指標,日後的投資組合將有所改變。宏利投資管理、其聯屬公司或彼等之任何董事、高級職員或僱員,對任何人士倚賴或不倚賴本文件所載資料行事而引致的任何直接或間接損失、損害或任何其他後果,概不承擔法律責任或其他責任。

本文件的部份資料可能包含就日後發生的事件、目標、管理規定或其他估計所作出的預測或其他前瞻性陳述。該等事件並不一定會發生,並可能與本文件所載的情況存在重大差異。本文件載有關於金融市場發展趨勢的陳述乃按照現時的市況作出,有關市況會出現變化,並會因市場隨後發生的事件或其他原因而改變。本文件的資料僅供參考,並不構成代表宏利投資管理向任何人士提出買賣任何證券的建議、專業意見、要約或邀請。本文件的資料不得視為現時或過去的建議,或游說買賣任何投資產品或採納任何投資策略的要約。本文件所載的所有資料概不構成投資、法律、會計或稅務意見,或任何投資或策略適用於閣下個別情況的聲明,或構成向閣下提出的個人建議。 過往回報並不預示未來業績。

投資涉及風險。投資者不應只單靠本資料而作出投資決定,而應仔細閱讀銷售文件(如適用),以獲取詳細資料,包括任何投資產品的風險因素、收費及產品特點。

專有信息 — 未經宏利投資管理事先同意,不得以任何形式或就任何目的向任何第三方複製、分發、傳閱、散播、刊登或披露本文件全部或任何部分內容。

本文件由宏利投資管理(香港)有限公司屬下分部宏利投資管理(亞洲)刊發。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會並未有審閱此文件。

505985

 

確認