Skip to main content
Back

Asian Equities

Asian equities posted strong gains1 in 2019 against a generally favorable macro backdrop. Although escalating Sino-US tensions periodically heightened volatility and uncertainty in markets throughout the year, all regional indices2 (except Malaysia) are approaching year-end higher. A raft of positive catalysts drove returns:  a progressively accommodative US Federal Reserve, resurgence in global technology shares, and resilient earnings in key markets. In Indonesia and India, general elections were successfully held, with electoral mandates given to Prime Minister Modi and President Widodo to deepen their economic reform agendas.

Strong fundamentals, favourable cyclical trends, and structural factors will drive 2020 results

2020 is likely to be a breakout year as the successive rounds of tariff hikes, which brought trade and investment to a near standstill in 2019, comes to an end. This de-escalation on the trade front has already provided green shoots in Asian economic activity with the resilience in tech export from Taiwan, demand surge in 5G from China, as well as more localised supply chains. As a result, forecast regional growth is expected to outpace that of developed and developing markets over the next two years3.

In addition, Asia is arguably better positioned than other regions for the necessary “hand off” from monetary policy to fiscal policy. Indeed, it still possesses more monetary room in key markets to cut interest rates, but also boasts several markets with low-and-stable fiscal deficits that will allow them to boost spending especially in the form of infrastructure spending.

From a market perspective, potential US dollar weakness, lower local rates, improving Asia tech fundamentals and consumer discretionary spending should keep Asia ahead of developed markets in earnings delivery. Asian valuations remains reasonable and earnings growth4  should be one of the key drivers for Asia market performance in the coming year. 

Having said that, we are also closely monitoring the trajectory of Sino-US trade relations in the new year. Even with recently announced phase-one trade deal in December, and a potential for a phase-two deal to be worked on, our base case scenario has not changed: Sino-US trade tensions will continue to be a structural factor of the landscape for years to come. As such, trade tensions offer challenges and opportunities for firms to develop new strategies and more diversified supply chains over the longer-term.

Cyclical tech upswing will offer North Asian equity opportunities in 2020

In North Asia, we expect a greater convergence in market performance compared with 2019 when Greater China equities (China and Taiwan) surged ahead, while Korea posted more moderate gains. A coordinated upswing in the technology sector should serve as a key positive catalyst.

  • In Greater China, we believe that markets have the momentum to move higher on continued government policy support measures and potential economic stabilisation. As Kai Kong Chay, Greater China Specialist, outlines in his outlook ─ 2020 will be a crucial one to seize emerging opportunities in the onshore A-shares market with the completed MSCI inclusion and from resurgent technology shares in Taiwan, which should continue their strong performance as demand for smartphone components and 5G-related products remain robust.
  • Korean equity markets posted subdued gains in 2019, as it is a high-beta market suffering from the dual negative catalysts of slumping global trade5  and a bottoming demand for memory (DRAM) in the semiconductor market. We believe Korea is poised for an upswing in 2020 on the back of stronger global growth, a sustained rebound in memory pricing, and attractive valuations. Finally, rising tensions between Japan and Korea that negatively affected trade in 2019 may be on the mend after leaders from both countries met in early November.

Structural reforms and shifting supply chains will drive equity opportunities in ASEAN and India

We expect that select ASEAN markets and India will also be bright spots in 2020, as they continue to benefit from the dual drivers of structural economic reform and supply chains relocations.

  • Starting in 2016, the Indian government implemented a series of important structural reforms that established the necessary foundation for more formalised economic growth. After the National Democratic Alliance won a new electoral mandate in 2019, it deepened reforms through corporate tax reduction and disinvestment plans for state-owned assets. Rana Gupta, India Equity Specialist, details in his outlook how the framework of the 3 “R’s” (Recycle, Rebuild, and Reinvest) presents long-term opportunities for the government to boost growth and investors to profit from this investment theme.
  • We are constructive on the Indonesian equity market on the back of important structural reforms. The re-election of President Widodo in May 2019 bolstered his reform-based agenda, and he has gradually laid out his new vision for Indonesia’s economic future: more flexible labour markets, a streamlined business environment. Widodo aims to reform the country’s rigid labour laws6, which would allow Indonesia to boost its manufacturing capacity and benefit from shifting regional supply chains. Furthermore, he wants to deepen infrastructure spending to improve the nation’s efficiency and connectivity. We are currently positive on construction and consumer shares in this important market.
  • We also have a positive long-term view on Vietnam.  Vietnam has arguably emerged as a winner, as companies have reconfigured their regional supply chains in the wake of rising trade tensions. Indeed, Vietnam’s exports and foreign direct investment (FDI) reached new levels in 20197. The relocation of supply chains, with manufacturers’ improving their long-term competitiveness due to increased economies of scale, and the transfer of technology by larger multi-national companies (MNC) have helped firms to move quickly up the value-added chain.  We also believe one negative aspect in the Vietnamese equity market could see progress in 2020 ─ the limited float that is available to foreign investors. Although MSCI did not place the market on its watch list in 20198, we believe this is possible in 2020.  Such an upgrade would symbolise improved market efficiency and offer more investment opportunities.

Asia-Pacific REITs (AP REITs) offers unique benefits for investors

Finally, for investors seeking different asset class opportunities in the region, AP REITs offers a unique blend of benefits for investors that include stable income distribution and the potential upside of capital appreciation.  

  • In her 2020 outlook, Hui Min Ng, Portfolio Manager, outlines the ample regional opportunities available for AP REITs in 2020. On the back of accommodative monetary policy and improved economic growth prospects, she believes that the asset class will deliver stable income to investors from key markets in 2020.  

2020 should be a turnaround year for Asian equities

Overall, given global equities are at record highs and bond yields are near historical lows, we expect Asian equities to offer a better risk/reward profile in 2020. We also believe that the region offers an attractive diversity of opportunities for investors.  Asia’s economic growth prospects arguably outweigh those of other emerging markets, as global growth stabilises in 2020 — offering both cyclical and structural opportunities as mentioned above. Further, with many structural opportunities more levered to domestic demand than the global economic cycle, they also could provide valuable diversification benefits for global investors.

Ronald Chan, Chief investment Officer, Equities, Asia ex-Japan
  1. MSCI Asia (ex-Japan) gained 13.58% through 12 December 2019. Bloomberg, total returns in US dollar.
  2. All MSCI country indices, as of 12 December 2019.
  3. IMF, World Economic Outlook (2020), October 2019.
  4. Estimated price-to-earnings (PE) ratio for MSCI US & MSCI Asia Pacific (ex-Japan) are 17.9 times and 13.6 times, respective 2020 estimated earnings growth are 10.4% and 12.2%, FactSet, as of 29 November 2019.
  5. South Korea was among the hardest hit as its economy is deeply entwined with China and the United States. Source: Bloomberg, Manulife Investment Management, as of 10 September 2019.
  6. Bloomberg, 3 October 2019. President Joko Widodo said he’ll introduce sweeping changes to labour rules by the end of 2019 and open up more sectors of the economy to foreign investment.
  7. Bloomberg, as of 15 December 2019.
  8. A placement on MSCI’s watch list is the requisite move before the country is eligible for an upgrade from “frontier” markets status to “emerging” market indices.

Disclaimers

Investing involves risks, including the potential loss of principal. Financial markets are volatile and can fluctuate significantly in response to company, industry, political, regulatory, market, or economic developments. These risks are magnified for investments made in emerging markets. Currency risk is the risk that fluctuations in exchange rates may adversely affect the value of a portfolio’s investments.

The information provided does not take into account the suitability, investment objectives, financial situation, or particular needs of any specific person. You should consider the suitability of any type of investment for your circumstances and, if necessary, seek professional advice.

This material, intended for the exclusive use by the recipients who are allowable to receive this document under the applicable laws and regulations of the relevant jurisdictions, was produced by, and the opinions expressed are those of, Manulife Investment Management as of the date of this publication, and are subject to change based on market and other conditions. The information and/or analysis contained in this material have been compiled or arrived at from sources believed to be reliable, but Manulife Investment Management does not make any representation as to their accuracy, correctness, usefulness, or completeness and does not accept liability for any loss arising from the use of the information and/or analysis contained. The information in this material may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events, targets, management discipline, or other expectations, and is only as current as of the date indicated. The information in this document, including statements concerning financial market trends, are based on current market conditions, which will fluctuate and may be superseded by subsequent market events or for other reasons. Manulife Investment Management disclaims any responsibility to update such information.

Neither Manulife Investment Management or its affiliates, nor any of their directors, officers or employees shall assume any liability or responsibility for any direct or indirect loss or damage or any other consequence of any person acting or not acting in reliance on the information contained herein. All overviews and commentary are intended to be general in nature and for current interest. While helpful, these overviews are no substitute for professional tax, investment or legal advice. Clients should seek professional advice for their particular situation. Neither Manulife, Manulife Investment Management, nor any of their affiliates or representatives is providing tax, investment or legal advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. This material was prepared solely for informational purposes, does not constitute a recommendation, professional advice, an offer or an invitation by or on behalf of Manulife Investment Management to any person to buy or sell any security or adopt any investment strategy, and is no indication of trading intent in any fund or account managed by Manulife Investment Management. No investment strategy or risk management technique can guarantee returns or eliminate risk in any market environment. Diversification or asset allocation does not guarantee a profit nor protect against loss in any market. Unless otherwise specified, all data is sourced from Manulife Investment Management.

Manulife Investment Management

Manulife Investment Management is the global wealth and asset management segment of Manulife Financial Corporation. We draw on more than 150 years of financial stewardship to partner with clients across our institutional, retail, and retirement businesses globally. Our specialist approach to money management includes the highly differentiated strategies of our fixed-income, specialized equity, multi-asset solutions, and private markets teams—along with access to specialized, unaffiliated asset managers from around the world through our multimanager model.

These materials have not been reviewed by, are not registered with any securities or other regulatory authority, and may, where appropriate, be distributed by the following Manulife entities in their respective jurisdictions. Additional information about Manulife Investment Management may be found at www.manulifeam.com.

Australia: Hancock Natural Resource Group Australasia Pty Limited, Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Brazil: Hancock Asset Management Brasil Ltda. Canada: Manulife Investment Management Limited, Manulife Investment Management Distributors Inc., Manulife Investment Management (North America) Limited, Manulife Investment Management Private Markets (Canada) Corp. China: Manulife Overseas Investment Fund Management (Shanghai) Limited Company. European Economic Area and United Kingdom: Manulife Investment Management (Europe) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, Manulife Investment Management (Ireland) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. Hong Kong: Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Indonesia: PT Manulife Aset Manajemen Indonesia. Japan: Manulife Asset Management (Japan) Limited. Malaysia: Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad (formerly known as Manulife Asset Management Services Berhad) 200801033087 (834424-U). Philippines: Manulife Asset Management and Trust Corporation. Singapore: Manulife Investment Management (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. (Company Registration No. 200709952G). Switzerland: Manulife IM (Switzerland) LLC. Taiwan: Manulife Investment Management (Taiwan) Co. Ltd. Thailand: Manulife Asset Management (Thailand) Company Limited. United States: John Hancock Investment Management LLC, Manulife Investment Management (US) LLC, Hancock Capital Investment Management, LLC and Hancock Natural Resource Group, Inc. Vietnam: Manulife Investment Fund Management (Vietnam) Company Limited. 

Manulife Investment Management, the Stylized M Design, and Manulife Investment Management & Stylized M Design are trademarks of The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company and are used by it, and by its affiliates under license. 

506035

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回

亞洲股票

在2019年,宏觀環境普遍利好,帶動亞洲股市錄得強勁升幅1。雖然中美緊張關係升級不時令市況波動和不確定性增加,但所有地區指數2 (馬來西亞除外)於去年底上升。回報受惠於多項正面因素,包括美國聯儲局推行循序漸進的寬鬆貨幣政策、全球科技股再次受追捧,以及主要市場的企業盈利穩健。印尼及印度順利舉行大選,印度總理莫迪和印尼總統佐科維多多均獲得人民授權,以進一步推動經濟改革議程。

基本因素強勁、周期性趨勢利好和結構性因素將帶動2020年表現

受加徵關稅的影響,2019年的貿易和投資接近停滯不前。隨著連續多輪調高關稅的行動結束,2020年市場可能出現突破。在台灣的科技出口表現穩健、中國5G技術需求急增,以及供應鏈趨於本土化等因素支持下,貿易緊張關係紓緩令亞洲經濟活動初步出現轉機。因此,未來兩年亞洲區內的經濟增長預測,料優於已發展和發展中市場3。 

此外,隨著貨幣政策必須「交棒」予財政政策,亞洲的環境可說是優於其他地區。事實上,區內主要市場仍擁有較大的貨幣政策空間以進行減息,另外多個市場的財政赤字偏低而穩定,有能力增加政府開支,特別是基建方面的開支。 

從市場角度來說,美元可能轉弱、當地利率下跌、亞洲科技業的基本因素改善,加上非必需消費品開支增加,亞洲企業盈利料跑贏已發展市場企業。亞洲股票的估值仍然合理,盈利增長4將成為2020年亞洲市場表現的主要推動力之一。 

儘管如此,我們仍密切注視中美貿易關係在新一年的發展。縱使中美雙方早前於2019年12月公布達成第一階段貿易協議,並可能會磋商第二階段協議,但我們的基本情景預測維持不變:在未來數年,中美貿易緊張關係將繼續是主導局勢的結構性因素。因此,貿易關係緊張為企業帶來挑戰和機遇,以制定較長期的新策略及進一步分散供應鏈。

科技股周期升勢為2020年北亞股票帶來機遇

我們預期北亞市場表現將較2019年更趨一致,大中華股市(中國及台灣)繼續上揚,而韓國的升幅則較溫和。科技股普遍上揚,將為市場提供主要的正面動力。

  • 大中華股市方面,我們認為有進一步上升的動力,主要受惠於政府持續推行政策支持措施及經濟有望回穩。正如大中華區股票專家謝企剛在其市場展望所言,2020年將是把握嶄新機遇的關鍵一年,包括完成納入MSCI明晟指數的在岸中國A股市場,以及再度受追捧的台灣科技股。隨著智能手機零部件和5G相關產品的需求持續暢旺,台灣科技股可望延續強勁表現。 
  • 波動較大的韓國股市,在2019年錄得溫和升幅,主要受到兩項負面因素影響,包括環球貿易急跌5及半導體市場的記憶體(動態隨機存取記憶體)需求跌至低谷。我們預期韓國將於2020年揚升,主要受惠於環球經濟增長加快、記憶體價格持續反彈及市場估值具吸引力。另外,日韓緊張關係加劇,為2019年的貿易帶來負面影響,但雙方元首於2019年11月初會面後,緊張關係或會好轉。 

結構性改革及供應鏈遷移將為東盟和印度股市帶來機遇

我們預期個別東盟市場和印度亦將於2020年表現亮麗,這些地區繼續受惠於結構性經濟改革和供應鏈遷移的雙重動力。

  • 從2016年起,印度政府推行一系列重要的結構性改革,為更正規的經濟增長奠定不可或缺的基礎。國家民主聯盟在2019年再度贏得選民授權,有助該黨進一步推動改革,包括調低企業稅和推行國企私有化計劃。印度股票專家Rana Gupta在其市場展望中詳述「3R」(Recycle、Rebuild和Reinvest,亦即循環流轉、重建儲蓄和再投資)框架如何提供長期機遇,以助當地政府推動經濟增長,並使投資者受惠於這投資主題。
  • 我們看好印尼股市,當地正進行重要的結構性改革。印尼總統佐科維多多在2019年5月成功連任,有助延續其改革議程,他亦逐步公布對印尼未來經濟的新願景,包括更靈活的勞工市場和精簡的營商環境。佐科維多多旨在改革缺乏彈性的勞工法 6,應可提振當地的製造業產能,並受惠於區內供應鏈遷移。此外,他希望擴大基建開支,以改善整個國家的效率和連繫能力。印尼是一個重要市場,現時我們看好當地的建築和消費股。 
  • 我們亦看好越南的長期前景。貿易緊張關係加劇,促使企業遷移區內供應鏈,因此越南可能已成為贏家。事實上,當地出口和外國直接投資均在2019年創新高7。隨著供應鏈遷移,製造商因規模經濟效益增加而提升競爭力,加上大型跨國公司的技術轉移,有助企業於價值鏈迅速上移。不利越南股市的因素之一,是外國投資者可參與的股票流通量有限,但我們預期這情況在2020年可得到改善。雖然當地市場在2019年並無獲MSCI明晟納入觀察名單8,但情況可能在2020年發生。若地位獲得提升,將反映其市場效率改善,並能提供更多投資機遇。 

亞太房地產投資信託為投資者提供獨特優勢

若投資者計劃尋找區內不同資產類別的機遇,亞太房地產投資信託正可提供與別不同的優勢,包括穩定的收入分派及資本升值潛力。 

  • 投資組合經理黃惠敏在其2020年市場展望中指出,亞太房地產投資信託在2020年提供充分的投資機遇。在寬鬆貨幣政策和經濟增長前景轉佳的環境下,她預期該資產類別將於2020年在主要市場為投資者提供穩定收入。 

亞洲股市將於2020年出現轉機

整體來說,鑑於全球股市升至紀錄高位,加上債券孳息率接近歷史低位,我們看好亞洲股票將在2020年帶來較佳的經風險調整後回報。另外,我們相信亞洲可以為投資者提供具吸引力的分散投資機會。隨著全球增長在2020年靠穩,亞洲區的經濟增長前景將優於其他新興市場,並可提供上述的周期性和結構性投資機會。再者,由於不少結構性投資機會取決於內需多於全球經濟周期,因此能為全球投資者提供寶貴的分散投資優勢。

陳致洲, 亞洲(除日本)股票首席投資總監
  1. 截至2019年12月12日,MSCI明晟亞洲(日本除外)指數上升13.58%。彭博資訊,總回報以美元計算。
  2. 所有MSCI明晟國家指數,截至2019年12月12日。
  3. 國際貨幣基金組織《2020年世界經濟展望》,2019年10月。
  4. MSCI明晟美國指數及MSCI明晟亞太區(日本除外)指數的預測市盈率分別為17.9倍和13.6倍,2020年預測盈利增長分別為10.4%和12.2%。FactSet,截至2019年11月29日。
  5. 南韓經濟與中美兩國緊密相連,因此最受打擊。資料來源:彭博資訊、宏利投資管理,截至2019年9月10日。
  6. 彭博資訊,2019年10月3日。印尼總統佐科維多多表示將於2019年底前對勞工法作出重大修訂,並將對外資開放更多經濟行業。
  7. 彭博資訊,截至2019年12月15日。
  8. 一個地區市場從「前緣」市場獲提升至納入「新興」市場指數之前,必須先獲MSCI明晟納入觀察名單。

免責聲明

宏利投資管理是宏利金融的環球財富及資產管理分部。本文件只供相關司法權區適用法例及規例容許收取本文件的收件人使用,內容由宏利投資管理編製,當中的觀點為撰寫文件當日的意見,並可予以更改。宏利投資管理乃根據其認為可靠的來源編匯或得出本文件的資料及/或分析,惟對其準確性、正確性、有用性及完整性概不發表任何聲明,對因使用有關資料及/或分析而引致的任何損失亦概不負責。有關組合的投資項目、資產分配或於不同國家分布的投資均屬過往的資料,並非日後投資組合的指標,日後的投資組合將有所改變。宏利投資管理、其聯屬公司或彼等之任何董事、高級職員或僱員,對任何人士倚賴或不倚賴本文件所載資料行事而引致的任何直接或間接損失、損害或任何其他後果,概不承擔法律責任或其他責任。

本文件的部份資料可能包含就日後發生的事件、目標、管理規定或其他估計所作出的預測或其他前瞻性陳述。該等事件並不一定會發生,並可能與本文件所載的情況存在重大差異。本文件載有關於金融市場發展趨勢的陳述乃按照現時的市況作出,有關市況會出現變化,並會因市場隨後發生的事件或其他原因而改變。本文件的資料僅供參考,並不構成代表宏利投資管理向任何人士提出買賣任何證券的建議、專業意見、要約或邀請。本文件的資料不得視為現時或過去的建議,或游說買賣任何投資產品或採納任何投資策略的要約。本文件所載的所有資料概不構成投資、法律、會計或稅務意見,或任何投資或策略適用於閣下個別情況的聲明,或構成向閣下提出的個人建議。過往回報並不預示未來業績。

投資涉及風險。投資者不應只單靠本資料而作出投資決定,而應仔細閱讀銷售文件(如適用),以獲取詳細資料,包括任何投資產品的風險因素、收費及產品特點。

專有信息 — 未經宏利投資管理事先同意,不得以任何形式或就任何目的向任何第三方複製、分發、傳閱、散播、刊登或披露本文件全部或任何部分內容。

本文件由宏利投資管理(香港)有限公司屬下分部宏利投資管理(亞洲)刊發。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會並未有審閱此文件。

506035

確認