Skip to main content
Back

Global Healthcare

The healthcare sector should see the continuation of several long-term secular demand trends in 2020, regardless of global economic conditions. Supported by such trends, Steven Slaughter of the Global Healthcare strategy believes that a combination of the sector’s defensive characteristics, coupled with strong organic growth in selected companies will afford continued outperformance over a full market cycle. 

Secular demand trends that guide our Strategy

Regardless of the global economic cycle, we expect the healthcare sector to benefit from a number of secular demand trends which should continue to support its long-term growth trajectory. These tailwinds include: a demographic ramp in aging populations, major advances in Cancer and Cardiovascular medicine (driving increases of life expectancy), and massive increases in healthcare expenditures as a result of advanced treatment options and corresponding increases in end market demand for healthcare products and services. 

Aggregate life expectancy globally continues to expand as a result of advances in disease prevention, improved surgical/interventional procedures, and advanced therapeutic treatments. Simply put, older patients require additional treatments, procedures and care. Despite recent advancements in care, profound unmet medical needs still exist today — with the majority of these needs currently falling into three main categories: Central Nervous System disorders (CNS), metabolic syndrome/obesity, and rare or orphan disorders. 

For example, no disease-modifying treatment options currently exist for the most serious CNS disorders, including Alzheimer’s, Huntington’s Disease and Parkinson’s Disease, etc. What’s more, current treatment options for major psychiatric disorders remain suboptimal. Direct treatment costs globally for these disorders continue to rise at an astounding rate: in the US, expenditure on Alzheimer’s disease alone is now almost US$300 billion each year1. We believe that the first disease-modifying treatment could have a significant impact on this cost dynamic.

Metabolic syndrome continues to rise in developed nations. This condition is an established risk factor for cardiovascular disease and predisposes patients to multiple cancers and osteoarthritis/joint replacements. Improved treatments for metabolic syndrome hold the potential to bend the healthcare cost curve. 

Finally, the medical community has identified approximately 7,000 rare or orphan diseases2: such as hemophilia, sickle cell disease, and lysosomal storage disorders. More than 450 new medicines/gene therapies are in development today as treatment options currently exist for only approximately 5% of these diseases2.

As such, we believe that healthcare products and services capable of addressing unmet medical needs while curtailing aggregate spend, will be rapidly adopted. 

Constructive on biopharma

In general, the healthcare sector should continue to experience significant long-term growth in demand for years to come on the back of previously mentioned secular trends. We believe this will lead to steady organic growth and expanding margins for select companies across the sector that can offer groundbreaking products and services for previously undertreated/untreatable conditions that can simultaneously bend the healthcare cost curve. 

We believe the strategy is well positioned in this regard, as we have built a diversified portfolio of healthcare companies that seek to address unmet medical needs, pursue underappreciated market opportunities and demonstrate an ability to bend the healthcare cost curve. Toward this end, we advocate a modest overweight to select biopharma companies and a modest underweight to select services companies.

What headwinds does the strategy face?

Political uncertainty, as a result of the upcoming 2020 US presidential election, is a factor. As was common with past U.S. election cycles, the healthcare sector may experience near-term volatility as we approach polling day, with investors weighing possible changes to the healthcare policy landscape. Sentiment surrounding the different sub-sectors may also shift in response to various candidates’ proposals, as healthcare is a crucial topic for presidential candidates.

Notwithstanding, we continue to view this as an opportune time to invest in the sector, as  underlying fundamentals remain strong with organic growth continuing to be a key driver for earnings outperformance. Indeed, earnings for the third quarter of 2019 impressed with the healthcare sector exhibiting the highest EPS growth in the broader economy of approximately 10%3. In addition, the sector remains one of the most recession resistant areas of the economy as evidenced by its meaningful outperformance during the last two downturns. 

Our positioning for 2020

As we approach 2020, sub-sector allocation within the healthcare strategy will remain critical. Towards this end, we have recently trimmed our overweight in hospital supplies/devices and tools companies. We think these sub-sectors will continue to offer solid long-term growth potential, although valuations in certain names have become extended. We maintain positions in reasonably valued companies within these sub-sectors that have exposure to high-growth markets that are addressing unmet medical needs. Examples include surgical robotics, interventional stroke, mitral valve repair, mass spectrometry and continuous glucose monitoring.

In other sub-sectors, such as biopharma and healthcare providers & services, diligent stock selection will be crucial. We advocate a modest overweight in biopharma, emphasising select companies with best-in-class product portfolios and growing pipelines that can hold their formulary positions in an evolving market. In contrast, we aim to avoid or minimize exposure to positions in companies that are at risk for therapeutic substitution, have undifferentiated product pipelines, or that have relied heavily on excess price increases over time to drive top-line growth.

We are underweight healthcare providers & services companies, as we see continued threats to select supply-chain companies – specifically pharmacy retailers and drug wholesalers. We expect these companies to see heightened pressures from decelerating drug inflation as well as opiate litigation liability.

Conclusion

Notwithstanding the aforementioned headline risks, we believe that the sector’s defensive characteristics coupled with its strong organic prospects will provide continued outperformance over a full market cycle. As ever, our focus is on the importance of stock selection as a potential driver facilitating outperformance.

Steven Slaughter, Lead Portfolio Manager
  1. Alzheimer’s Association of America, 2018 AD Facts & Figures.
  2. PhRMA. Biopharmaceuticals In Perspective, Spring 2016. Rare diseases are those that affect 200,000 or fewer people in the United States. 
  3. Credit Suisse US. Earnings Brief, November 2019.

Disclaimers

Investing involves risks, including the potential loss of principal. Financial markets are volatile and can fluctuate significantly in response to company, industry, political, regulatory, market, or economic developments. These risks are magnified for investments made in emerging markets. Currency risk is the risk that fluctuations in exchange rates may adversely affect the value of a portfolio’s investments.

The information provided does not take into account the suitability, investment objectives, financial situation, or particular needs of any specific person. You should consider the suitability of any type of investment for your circumstances and, if necessary, seek professional advice.

This material, intended for the exclusive use by the recipients who are allowable to receive this document under the applicable laws and regulations of the relevant jurisdictions, was produced by, and the opinions expressed are those of, Manulife Investment Management as of the date of this publication, and are subject to change based on market and other conditions. The information and/or analysis contained in this material have been compiled or arrived at from sources believed to be reliable, but Manulife Investment Management does not make any representation as to their accuracy, correctness, usefulness, or completeness and does not accept liability for any loss arising from the use of the information and/or analysis contained. The information in this material may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events, targets, management discipline, or other expectations, and is only as current as of the date indicated. The information in this document, including statements concerning financial market trends, are based on current market conditions, which will fluctuate and may be superseded by subsequent market events or for other reasons. Manulife Investment Management disclaims any responsibility to update such information.

Neither Manulife Investment Management or its affiliates, nor any of their directors, officers or employees shall assume any liability or responsibility for any direct or indirect loss or damage or any other consequence of any person acting or not acting in reliance on the information contained herein. All overviews and commentary are intended to be general in nature and for current interest. While helpful, these overviews are no substitute for professional tax, investment or legal advice. Clients should seek professional advice for their particular situation. Neither Manulife, Manulife Investment Management, nor any of their affiliates or representatives is providing tax, investment or legal advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. This material was prepared solely for informational purposes, does not constitute a recommendation, professional advice, an offer or an invitation by or on behalf of Manulife Investment Management to any person to buy or sell any security or adopt any investment strategy, and is no indication of trading intent in any fund or account managed by Manulife Investment Management. No investment strategy or risk management technique can guarantee returns or eliminate risk in any market environment. Diversification or asset allocation does not guarantee a profit nor protect against loss in any market. Unless otherwise specified, all data is sourced from Manulife Investment Management.

Manulife Investment Management

Manulife Investment Management is the global wealth and asset management segment of Manulife Financial Corporation. We draw on more than 150 years of financial stewardship to partner with clients across our institutional, retail, and retirement businesses globally. Our specialist approach to money management includes the highly differentiated strategies of our fixed-income, specialized equity, multi-asset solutions, and private markets teams—along with access to specialized, unaffiliated asset managers from around the world through our multimanager model.

These materials have not been reviewed by, are not registered with any securities or other regulatory authority, and may, where appropriate, be distributed by the following Manulife entities in their respective jurisdictions. Additional information about Manulife Investment Management may be found at www.manulifeam.com.

Australia: Hancock Natural Resource Group Australasia Pty Limited, Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Brazil: Hancock Asset Management Brasil Ltda. Canada: Manulife Investment Management Limited, Manulife Investment Management Distributors Inc., Manulife Investment Management (North America) Limited, Manulife Investment Management Private Markets (Canada) Corp. China: Manulife Overseas Investment Fund Management (Shanghai) Limited Company. European Economic Area and United Kingdom: Manulife Investment Management (Europe) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, Manulife Investment Management (Ireland) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. Hong Kong: Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Indonesia: PT Manulife Aset Manajemen Indonesia. Japan: Manulife Asset Management (Japan) Limited. Malaysia: Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad (formerly known as Manulife Asset Management Services Berhad) 200801033087 (834424-U). Philippines: Manulife Asset Management and Trust Corporation. Singapore: Manulife Investment Management (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. (Company Registration No. 200709952G). Switzerland: Manulife IM (Switzerland) LLC. Taiwan: Manulife Investment Management (Taiwan) Co. Ltd. Thailand: Manulife Asset Management (Thailand) Company Limited. United States: John Hancock Investment Management LLC, Manulife Investment Management (US) LLC, Hancock Capital Investment Management, LLC and Hancock Natural Resource Group, Inc. Vietnam: Manulife Investment Fund Management (Vietnam) Company Limited. 

Manulife Investment Management, the Stylized M Design, and Manulife Investment Management & Stylized M Design are trademarks of The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company and are used by it, and by its affiliates under license. 

505709

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回

環球康健護理業

無論環球經濟狀況如何,康健護理業的多項長期需求趨勢均可望在2020年延續。環球康健護理策略首席投資組合經理Steven Slaughter認為,在有關趨勢支持下,康健護理業具防守性特質,結合內在增長強勁的個別公司,足以在整個市場周期持續表現出色。

長期需求趨勢引領本策略

不論環球經濟處於哪個周期,我們預期康健護理業將受惠於多個長期需求趨勢,繼續支持行業長期增長。相關利好因素包括:人口老化、癌症和心血管藥物取得重大進展(預期人均壽命得以延長)、先進的治療方案導致醫療開支大幅上漲,以及終端市場對康健護理產品和服務的需求相應增加。 

由於疾病預防措施加強,手術/介入式治療程序改良,加上治療方式取得進展,全球整體預期壽命持續延長。簡單來說,年長病人需要額外的治療、手術和護理。儘管近年護理業有所發展,但目前醫療需求的缺口仍然龐大──當中以下列三個需求類型為主:中樞神經系統紊亂、代謝症候群/肥胖症,以及稀有或罕見疾病。 

舉例來說,現時並無可緩解大部份嚴重中樞神經系統紊亂病情的療法,包括阿茲海默症、亨丁頓舞蹈症和柏金遜症等。此外,現時常見精神病的療法效果仍不理想。全球用於這些疾病的直接治療費用持續以驚人速度增長:美國單是花費在治療阿茲海默症的每年開支已接近3,000億美元1。我們相信若首項可緩解病情的療法研發成功,或可為上述成本開支的狀況帶來深遠影響。

在已發展國家,代謝症候群患者持續增加。這疾病是公認的心血管疾病風險因素,而且可導致病人患上多種癌症,以及需要進行關節炎/關節置換手術。經改良的代謝症候群療法,可望減慢醫療開支增長。 

最後,醫學界已發現約7,000種稀有或罕見疾病2,例如:血友病、鐮狀細胞病(sickle cell disease)及溶小體儲積症(lysosomal storage disorders)。雖然目前這些疾病的療法僅可供5%患者使用,但目前有超過450種新藥/基因療法處於研製階段2

因此,我們相信能夠滿足龐大醫療需求缺口,並有助縮減整體開支的康健護理產品及服務,將可獲市場迅速採納。 

看好生物醫藥業前景

普遍而言,基於上文所述的長期趨勢,康健護理業的需求可在未來多年顯著增長。環顧康健護理業,如果有個別公司可針對過往難以/無法根治的疾病,提供突破性的產品和服務,相信上述趨勢將可促使這些公司錄得穩定的內在增長,並提高其利潤率,同時亦可減慢醫療開支增幅。 

就此而言,憑藉已建構的多元化康健護理公司投資組合,我們相信本策略已作好部署。有關公司均致力應對醫療需求的龐大缺口,把握未獲充份認同的市場機遇,而且展現減慢醫療開支增長的能力。為此,我們對個別生物醫藥公司作適度偏高的配置,並就個別醫療服務公司作適度偏低的投資。

投資策略面對甚麼阻力? 

鑑於美國即將於2020年舉行總統選舉,因此政治不確定性是值得注意的因素之一。隨著投票日臨近,投資者考慮到醫療政策環境可能有變,康健護理業可能會因而出現短期波動,這是以往美國選舉周期常見的現象。此外,由於醫療政策是總統競選期間的關鍵議題,因此不同分類行業的投資氣氛,或會基於各候選人的政綱而轉變。 

儘管如此,鑑於相關基本因素仍然強勁,內在增長繼續主導盈利取得出色表現,我們仍然認為目前是投資有關行業的好時機。事實上,康健護理業的2019年第三季盈利表現令人印象深刻,每股盈利增長約10%3,表現冠絕大市。此外,該行業仍是最能抵禦經濟衰退的領域之一,這從過去兩次經濟低迷期間仍可締造優秀表現可見一斑。 

2020年的部署

踏入2020年,康健護理業的分類行業配置策略依然關鍵。為此,我們近期已減少對醫院用品/設備和工具公司的偏重配置。我們認為有關分類行業將持續提供穩健的長期增長潛力,但個別公司的估值偏高。綜觀有關分類行業,我們維持對估值合理的公司配置。這些公司均涉足於應對醫療需求龐大缺口的高增長市場,包括手術機械人、介入性中風、二尖瓣修補、質譜分析和持續血糖監察。

至於生物醫藥和康健護理供應商與服務等其他分類行業,關鍵在於勤選股。我們主張適度偏重生物醫藥業,側重於擁有同類最佳產品組合和新產品數目持續增加的個別公司。這些公司可以在瞬息萬變的市場環境下,利用藥物處方的優勢鞏固地位。相反,我們致力迴避或減持受替代療法影響、新產品乏善可陳或未來倚重大幅加價來推動營業額增長的公司。

我們對康健護理供應商與服務公司持偏低配置,因為個別供應鏈公司持續受壓,特別是零售藥房和藥物批發商。預期藥物定價增幅放緩和鴉片類藥物訴訟責任,將增加有關公司的壓力。

總結 

雖然面對上述事件風險,我們相信康健護理業具防守特質,結合強勁的內在增長前景,應可在整個市場周期持續取得出色表現。一如以往,我們的策略重點在於透過審慎選股,作為取得領先表現的方法。

Steven Slaughter 首席投資組合經理
  1. 美國阿茲海默症協會,2018年的阿茲海默症資料與數據。
  2. 美國藥品研究與製造商協會(PhRMA)。Biopharmaceuticals In Perspective,2016年春季。稀有疾病是指感染200,000或以下美國人的疾病。 
  3. 美國瑞信。Earnings Brief,2019年11月。Alzheimer’s Association of America, 2018 AD Facts & Figures.

免責聲明

宏利投資管理是宏利金融的環球財富及資產管理分部。本文件只供相關司法權區適用法例及規例容許收取本文件的收件人使用,內容由宏利投資管理編製,當中的觀點為撰寫文件當日的意見,並可予以更改。宏利投資管理乃根據其認為可靠的來源編匯或得出本文件的資料及/或分析,惟對其準確性、正確性、有用性及完整性概不發表任何聲明,對因使用有關資料及/或分析而引致的任何損失亦概不負責。有關組合的投資項目、資產分配或於不同國家分布的投資均屬過往的資料,並非日後投資組合的指標,日後的投資組合將有所改變。宏利投資管理、其聯屬公司或彼等之任何董事、高級職員或僱員,對任何人士倚賴或不倚賴本文件所載資料行事而引致的任何直接或間接損失、損害或任何其他後果,概不承擔法律責任或其他責任。

本文件的部份資料可能包含就日後發生的事件、目標、管理規定或其他估計所作出的預測或其他前瞻性陳述。該等事件並不一定會發生,並可能與本文件所載的情況存在重大差異。本文件載有關於金融市場發展趨勢的陳述乃按照現時的市況作出,有關市況會出現變化,並會因市場隨後發生的事件或其他原因而改變。本文件的資料僅供參考,並不構成代表宏利投資管理向任何人士提出買賣任何證券的建議、專業意見、要約或邀請。本文件的資料不得視為現時或過去的建議,或游說買賣任何投資產品或採納任何投資策略的要約。本文件所載的所有資料概不構成投資、法律、會計或稅務意見,或任何投資或策略適用於閣下個別情況的聲明,或構成向閣下提出的個人建議。過往回報並不預示未來業績。

投資涉及風險。投資者不應只單靠本資料而作出投資決定,而應仔細閱讀銷售文件(如適用),以獲取詳細資料,包括任何投資產品的風險因素、收費及產品特點。

專有信息 — 未經宏利投資管理事先同意,不得以任何形式或就任何目的向任何第三方複製、分發、傳閱、散播、刊登或披露本文件全部或任何部分內容。

本文件由宏利投資管理(香港)有限公司屬下分部宏利投資管理(亞洲)刊發。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會並未有審閱此文件。

505709

確認