Skip to main content
Back

Greater China Equities

Despite the dual threat from global recession and trade tariffs, Greater China Equities made strong gains in 2019. Investors were buoyed by targeted Chinese government support and a resilient earnings growth, particularly in the consumer and technology sectors. In this outlook, Kai Kong Chay, Greater China Specialist, looks ahead to some of the bright spots in 2020, including the much-awaited sales recovery in domestic industries, expanding opportunities in small-cap and mid-cap China A-shares and a technology resurgence in Taiwan.

2019 Review: Targeted government policies and resilient earnings

Amid periodic bouts of market volatility, Greater China Equities outperformed both emerging and regional markets1 in 2019. China and Taiwan led the way, with Hong Kong posting relatively moderate gains2.

Several factors contributed to these robust returns. The Chinese government offered notable fiscal and monetary support throughout the year, including tax reforms and consumer incentives3. This assistance helped to propel earnings in key sectors. Fundamentals for the consumer discretionary and technology sectors in Greater China benefited from broader trends, as the global technology upswing in the second half of the year helped to send tech shares in Taiwan sharply higher, outpacing already elevated market gains4

2020 outlook: Attractive valuations and new opportunities  

For 2020, we expect a similar macro environment to prevail in China, and with ongoing government support, we should see close to 6% growth. Also, if the economy stabilises enough, then firms should be able to resume maintenance capital expenditure – a move that we believe is not yet priced in by investors and would potentially boost our growth estimates. Sino-US trade tensions will continue to play a significant role in the market’s trajectory. We expect economic tensions between the two powers to remain a structural issue over the mid-term. 

Given reasonable valuations and improved corporate earnings, we will maintain our optimistic view of A-shares in 2020. We believe that valuations are attractive with a forward price/earnings (P/E) ratio at approximately 10-11 times5, which is inexpensive compared with Hong Kong and other global equities. The critical catalyst should be positive sales activity in the leading domestic sectors, such as home appliances, cell phones, and automobiles. If the hoped-for recovery materialises, then the market will continue the rally, albeit at a slower pace than in 2019. 

One of the key themes for 2020 will be the increasing opportunity set in Chinese equities: the inclusion of A-shares in global indices (MSCI & FTSE) accelerated in 2019 and is slated to continue in 20206. Investors should note that the latest additions will include small-cap and mid-cap stocks which we believe is the most inefficient segment of the A-shares market, and an area for active managers to exploit. This can potentially be a rich source of alpha generation that is currently unavailable to overseas investors. 

Only 30% of A-shares outperformed the index in 20197. As the earnings of numerous companies are expected to recover in 2020, we think that the A-share rally will be robust and comprehensive, with 50–60% of stocks expected to outpace the market index. Cyclical and growth names are likely to lead the way in the first half of 2020. 

Sector outlook: Rich opportunities in Greater China Equities

For several years, we have viewed the opportunities in the Greater China equities market through the prism of three themes: 1) Consumption upgrade; 2) Research and Development; and 3) Technology.  For 2020, we see the greatest opportunities in the following two categories: 

1) Consumption Upgrade 

Growing personal income has been a vital driver of the consumption upgrade theme in China. Even with a structurally slowing economy, disposable income in China has grown by approximately 54% over the past five years8. We now see stronger earning power and increasing retail sales across the lower-tier cities9. In fact, retail sales growth in fourth-tier and fifth-tier cities have outstripped those seen in first-tier and second-tier locations over the past year10

  • E-commerce platforms and apps: We believe that disposable-income growth across China and convergence between urban and rural incomes offer unique opportunities for e-commerce platforms and apps. Investors are aware of several successful e-commerce platforms and digital apps in the Chinese market. However, we feel that the growth prospects of these platforms have further to go as rural consumers come online. Of note, a large e-commerce platform recently disclosed that 70% of new active users came from third-tier and fourth-tier cities11. Food delivery and entertainment apps are also reporting a rise in user numbers. Moreover, online payment providers have revealed that over 60% of their new customers are in these lower-tier cities12.

2) Research and Development (R&D)

In R&D, our team views healthcare and technology equities as offering the best opportunities. 

  • Healthcare: We have been positive on healthcare in China for several years due to several key structural factors: an ageing population, increased purchasing power, and the rapidly emerging landscape for innovative drug discovery. Indeed, China’s pharmaceutical sector is likely to expand by a compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 7.2% from 2017 to 2025, with the market for speciality drugs expected to grow even faster13. Industry consolidation and a more favourable regulatory environment should provide opportunities for pharmaceutical companies. With the United States Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) recent approval of the first-ever cancer drug researched in China14, we believe that local pharma firms will continue to move up the value chain and distribute medicine products both domestically and abroad. We are in favour of companies that invest in the development of new and innovative treatments, particularly in the oncology space. Moreover, biotech currently accounts for only 5.7% of the total pharma market in China, so there is plenty of room to ramp up to a global penetration level of over 26%.

3) Technology

We are also constructive in tech. Taiwan’s equity market has performed strongly in 2019, and we believe that tech support will continue in 2020. Taiwan’s electronics suppliers have benefited from the trade tensions between the US and China, and this position of “substitution” should remain, as they can supply both US and Chinese electronic manufacturers. In addition, Taiwan should be supported by a rebound in server sales, new and cheaper electric vehicle models, amplified demand for new smartphone models, and the accelerated rollout of 5G. 

Undoubtedly, 5G should be a prominent theme in the A-shares space, as the cell phone replacement cycle in mainland China is expected to shrink from 24 months to its historical average of 15–16 months. We are constructive on battery producers, chips, frequency, and antenna-related industries. 

Last but not least, we remain focused on policy-driven opportunities and are constructive in areas of environmental protection, such as natural gas distribution and some waste-to -energy companies. This stance is based on long-term support from the government.  

Conclusion

All in all, we believe that favourable conditions are in place for Greater China Equities to deliver attractive returns in the coming year: fiscal and monetary policy should continue to ease at the margin and recovery in sales could lift the profits of domestic firms. We also have opportunities from secular trends and the internationalisation of the China A-shares market. 

Still, we will be watching investment and consumer sentiment closely, as these are leading indicators of China’s future economic trajectory. We will also assess whether companies increase their regular capital expenditure in response to any trade agreement. Lastly, the Chinese government’s targeted fiscal and monetary policy measures will continue to play a crucial role. 

Kai Kong Chay, Greater China Specialist
  1. Bloomberg: MSCI Zhonghua posted a 14.50% gain, while MSCI Emerging Markets was up 12.56% and MSCI Asia-Pacific higher by 13.33%. Indices are total return and denominated in US dollar, as of 25 November.
  2. Bloomberg: MSCI Taiwan rose by 31.94%, MSCI China was higher by 16.32%, and MSCI Hong Kong was up by 8.35%. Indices are total return and denominated in US dollar, total return through 25 November 2019.
  3. Reduce value-added tax on companies and lower social security contributions for employees; decrease individual marginal tax rates to stimulate consumption; offer consumption incentives for autos and electronics.
  4. Bloomberg, the information technology segment of the MSCI Taiwan Index rose by 39.61% through 25 November 2019. 
  5. FactSet; as of 30 November, 2019. Predicted 2020 PE ratios of MSCI China is 11.5 times, lower than 14.1 times of the MSCI Hong Kong Index and 16.5 times of the MSCI World Index.
  6. Chinese A-shares will compose roughly 3.3% of MSCI Emerging Market Index’s at the end of November, FTSE announced to Include 25% of A-shares (~1000 names) in 3 steps (Jun 2019 -Mar 2020).
  7. Bloomberg. As of November 18, 2019. Among the 319 constituents of the CSI 300 Index, 99 listed firms (31%) outperformed the index, which rose 29.8%. Return calculations based on share/index prices in local currencies. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.
  8. National Bureau of Statistics of China, as of 21 January 2019.
  9. A lower-tier city is defined as a third, fourth or fifth tier city.
  10. National Bureau of Statistics of China, as of 30 September 2019
  11. “The Rise of China’s Smaller Cities”, Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business, 26 June 2019.
  12. Questmobile, data, as of 30 September 2019.
  13. “SC Imago Journal & Country Rank”, Citi Research, as of December 2017 and Citi Research, SCMP, as of August 2019.
  14. “China's BeiGene gets FDA approval for drug to treat rare form of lymphoma.” Reuters, 15 December 2019. 

Disclaimers

Investing involves risks, including the potential loss of principal. Financial markets are volatile and can fluctuate significantly in response to company, industry, political, regulatory, market, or economic developments. These risks are magnified for investments made in emerging markets. Currency risk is the risk that fluctuations in exchange rates may adversely affect the value of a portfolio’s investments.

The information provided does not take into account the suitability, investment objectives, financial situation, or particular needs of any specific person. You should consider the suitability of any type of investment for your circumstances and, if necessary, seek professional advice.

This material, intended for the exclusive use by the recipients who are allowable to receive this document under the applicable laws and regulations of the relevant jurisdictions, was produced by, and the opinions expressed are those of, Manulife Investment Management as of the date of this publication, and are subject to change based on market and other conditions. The information and/or analysis contained in this material have been compiled or arrived at from sources believed to be reliable, but Manulife Investment Management does not make any representation as to their accuracy, correctness, usefulness, or completeness and does not accept liability for any loss arising from the use of the information and/or analysis contained. The information in this material may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events, targets, management discipline, or other expectations, and is only as current as of the date indicated. The information in this document, including statements concerning financial market trends, are based on current market conditions, which will fluctuate and may be superseded by subsequent market events or for other reasons. Manulife Investment Management disclaims any responsibility to update such information.

Neither Manulife Investment Management or its affiliates, nor any of their directors, officers or employees shall assume any liability or responsibility for any direct or indirect loss or damage or any other consequence of any person acting or not acting in reliance on the information contained herein. All overviews and commentary are intended to be general in nature and for current interest. While helpful, these overviews are no substitute for professional tax, investment or legal advice. Clients should seek professional advice for their particular situation. Neither Manulife, Manulife Investment Management, nor any of their affiliates or representatives is providing tax, investment or legal advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. This material was prepared solely for informational purposes, does not constitute a recommendation, professional advice, an offer or an invitation by or on behalf of Manulife Investment Management to any person to buy or sell any security or adopt any investment strategy, and is no indication of trading intent in any fund or account managed by Manulife Investment Management. No investment strategy or risk management technique can guarantee returns or eliminate risk in any market environment. Diversification or asset allocation does not guarantee a profit nor protect against loss in any market. Unless otherwise specified, all data is sourced from Manulife Investment Management.

Manulife Investment Management

Manulife Investment Management is the global wealth and asset management segment of Manulife Financial Corporation. We draw on more than 150 years of financial stewardship to partner with clients across our institutional, retail, and retirement businesses globally. Our specialist approach to money management includes the highly differentiated strategies of our fixed-income, specialized equity, multi-asset solutions, and private markets teams—along with access to specialized, unaffiliated asset managers from around the world through our multimanager model.

These materials have not been reviewed by, are not registered with any securities or other regulatory authority, and may, where appropriate, be distributed by the following Manulife entities in their respective jurisdictions. Additional information about Manulife Investment Management may be found at www.manulifeam.com.

Australia: Hancock Natural Resource Group Australasia Pty Limited, Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Brazil: Hancock Asset Management Brasil Ltda. Canada: Manulife Investment Management Limited, Manulife Investment Management Distributors Inc., Manulife Investment Management (North America) Limited, Manulife Investment Management Private Markets (Canada) Corp. China: Manulife Overseas Investment Fund Management (Shanghai) Limited Company. European Economic Area and United Kingdom: Manulife Investment Management (Europe) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, Manulife Investment Management (Ireland) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. Hong Kong: Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Indonesia: PT Manulife Aset Manajemen Indonesia. Japan: Manulife Asset Management (Japan) Limited. Malaysia: Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad (formerly known as Manulife Asset Management Services Berhad) 200801033087 (834424-U). Philippines: Manulife Asset Management and Trust Corporation. Singapore: Manulife Investment Management (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. (Company Registration No. 200709952G). Switzerland: Manulife IM (Switzerland) LLC. Taiwan: Manulife Investment Management (Taiwan) Co. Ltd. Thailand: Manulife Asset Management (Thailand) Company Limited. United States: John Hancock Investment Management LLC, Manulife Investment Management (US) LLC, Hancock Capital Investment Management, LLC and Hancock Natural Resource Group, Inc. Vietnam: Manulife Investment Fund Management (Vietnam) Company Limited. 

Manulife Investment Management, the Stylized M Design, and Manulife Investment Management & Stylized M Design are trademarks of The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company and are used by it, and by its affiliates under license. 

505075

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回

大中華股票

即使面對環球經濟衰退和貿易關稅的雙重威脅,大中華股票在2019年仍然顯著造好。內地政府推行定向扶持政策,加上盈利增長強韌,特別在消費和科技業,均有助提振投資情緒。大中華區股票專家謝企剛將於本文闡述2020年的部份亮點,包括期待已久的本土行業銷情回暖、中小型A股的投資機遇增加,以及台灣科技業復甦。

2019年回顧:定向政府政策和盈利強韌 

儘管市場在2019年間歇波動,但大中華股票的表現較新興和地區市場1優勝,中國和台灣市場尤其突出,香港則錄得溫和升幅2。 

大中華市場的回報強勁,源於多項因素。中國政府於2019年提供重大的財政和貨幣支持,包括稅改和刺激消費措施3。這些扶持政策有助推動主要行業的盈利。大中華地區非必需消費品和科技行業的基本因素受惠於廣泛趨勢。全球科技業在2019年下半年走強,帶動台灣科技股飆升,升幅超越本已錄得可觀升幅的大市4。 

2020年前景展望:估值吸引及投資機遇增加

我們預料2020年中國的宏觀環境與去年相若,加上政府持續提供支持,經濟可望錄得接近6%增長。此外,若經濟達到一定的穩定程度,企業應可再度啟動維護性資本開支。我們認為投資者未有計及此因素,而這有可能提高我們的增長預測。中美貿易緊張關係將繼續對市場走勢發揮重大影響。中期而言,我們預料兩國之間的經濟角力,繼續成為結構性問題。 

我們對2020年的A股保持樂觀看法,因為其估值合理,而且企業盈利有所改善。我們相信A股估值吸引,預測市盈率約為10至11倍5,相對香港和其他環球市場股票不算昂貴。家電、手提電話和汽車等主要本土行業的銷情回暖,將會是大市關鍵的催化劑。如果經濟一如預期復甦,將有助延續市場升勢,但上升步伐會較2019年慢。 

中國股票投資機遇增加,是2020年主要投資主題之一:A股納入環球指數(MSCI明晟和富時)的趨勢在2019年加快,勢將延續至2020年6。投資者應注意最近被納入指數的股份將包括中小型股,相信這是A股中市場效率最低的版塊,為主動型投資經理提供機遇。這或許蘊藏大量超額回報來源,而海外投資者目前無法參與其中。 

在2019年,只有30%的A股表現優於指數7。我們預料多家公司的盈利可於2020年回升,因此A股將可展現穩健而相對全面的升勢,其中50至60%股份的表現可望優於市場指數。周期和增長股可能在2020上半年領漲。 

行業展望:大中華股票機會處處

在過去數年,我們將大中華股票機遇歸納為三個主題:1)消費升級;2)研究與開發;和3)科技發展。在2020年,我們認為以下兩個領域擁有最大機遇: 

1) 消費升級 

個人收入增加是中國消費升級主題的關鍵動力。即使內地經濟出現結構性放緩,但可動用收入在過去五年卻增加約54%8。現時低線城市企業的盈利能力更強,零售銷售亦見增長9。事實上,四、五線城市的零售銷售增長,在過去一年已超越一、二線城市10。 

  • 電子商貿平台和應用程式: 

我們認為內地可動用收入增加,以及城鎮和農村收入差距收窄,可為電子商貿平台和應用程式帶來獨特機遇。投資者已注意到中國市場上數個成功的電子商貿平台和數碼應用程式。然而,隨著農村消費者接通互聯網,相信這些平台具有進一步增長的潛力。值得注意的是,一家大型電子商貿平台近期披露,70%新註冊活躍用戶來自三、四線城市11。外賣速遞和娛樂應用程式的用戶人數亦逐漸增加。此外,網上付款供應商表示,超過60%新客戶來自這些低線城市12

2) 研究與開發

研發方面,我們的團隊認為康健護理和科技股提供最佳機遇。 

  • 康健護理:人口老化、購買力增加及開發創新藥物的趨勢急劇擴張等關鍵結構性因素,令我們數年來一直看好中國康健護理業。在2017年至2025年期間,中國製藥業可望實現7.2%複合年增長率,而專門藥物市場預料將以更快的步伐擴張13。行業整合和更有利的監管環境,應可為藥業公司帶來機遇。隨著美國食品及藥物管理局近期首次批准,中國研發的癌症藥物於當地上市14,相信本土製藥公司在價值鏈的地位將持續提升,並將把藥物產品分銷至本土和海外市場。我們偏好投資於研發新穎及創新療法的公司,尤其在腫瘤學方面。此外,生物科技目前佔中國整體醫藥市場比重僅5.7%,滲透率低,相信大有空間增長至環球水平(逾26%)。

3) 科技

我們亦看好科技業。台灣股市在2019年走強,相信科技業在2020年可繼續為大市帶來支持。台灣電子供應商受惠於中美貿易緊張關係,應該能夠維持其「替代」地位,因為這類公司的產品可同時供應予中美電子製造商。此外,伺服器銷售回升、電動車型號推陳出新及售價降低、新款智能電話需求增加及5G(第五代流動通訊)發展加快,均對台灣市場有利。 

毫無疑問,5G應是A股市場的重大主題,因為內地的手提電話更換周期,預料將由目前的24個月,縮短至過去平均的15-16個月。我們對電池生產商、晶片、射頻和天線相關行業感到樂觀。

最後,我們繼續注視由政策主導的投資機會。基於政府的長期政策支持,我們亦看好環保相關行業,例如天然氣輸送及一些轉廢為能公司。

總結

整體而言,我們認為大中華股票具備利好條件,可在2020年創造吸引回報:財政和貨幣政策仍會逐步放寬,而銷售回升則可望提振本土企業的利潤。中國A股市場的長期趨勢和國際化發展亦帶來機遇。 

儘管如此,我們將密切監察投資和消費者情緒,因為這些都是中國未來經濟走勢的領先指標。我們亦會評估,企業會否因應達成任何貿易協議而增加定期資本開支。最後,中國政府的定向財政和貨幣政策將繼續發揮關鍵作用。

謝企剛, 大中華區股票專家
  1. 彭博資訊:MSCI明晟中華指數升14.50%、MSCI明晟新興市場指數走高12.56%、MSCI明晟亞太區指數高收13.33%。指數以總回報和美元計算,截至2019年11月25日。
  2. 彭博資訊:MSCI明晟台灣指數升31.94%、MSCI明晟中國指數升16.32%、MSCI明晟香港指數則錄得8.35%升幅。指數以總回報和美元計算,總回報截至2019年11月25日。
  3. 下調企業增值稅和僱員社會保障供款額;調低個人邊際稅率以刺激消費;提供汽車和電子產品消費優惠。
  4. 彭博資訊:MSCI明晟台灣指數的資訊科技股升39.61%,截至2019年11月25日。 
  5. Factset,截至2019年11月30日。MSCI明晟中國指數的2020年預測市盈率為11.5倍,低於MSCI明晟香港指數的14.1倍,以及MSCI明晟世界指數的16.5倍。
  6. 截至2019年11月底,MSCI明晟新興市場指數將包含約3.3%中國A股。另外,富時宣布分三階段(2019年6月至2020年3月)納入25%的A股(約1,000隻股份)。
  7. 彭博資訊。截⾄2019年11⽉18⽇。綜觀滬深300指數的319隻成份股,99家上市公司(31%)表現優於錄得29.8%升幅的指數。回報以股票/指數的本幣價格計算。過往表現並非日後表現的指標。
  8. 中國國家統計局,截至2019年1月21日。
  9. 低線城市是指三、四、五線城市。
  10. 中國國家統計局,截至2019年9月30日。
  11. “The Rise of China’s Smaller Cities”,長江商學院,2019年6月26日。
  12. Questmobile數據,截至2019年9月30日。
  13. “SC Imago Journal & Country Rank”,花旗投資研究,截至2017年12月及花旗投資研究、南華早報,截至2019年8月。
  14. “China's BeiGene gets FDA approval for drug to treat rare form of lymphoma.”路透社,2019年12月15日。 

免責聲明

宏利投資管理是宏利金融的環球財富及資產管理分部。本文件只供相關司法權區適用法例及規例容許收取本文件的收件人使用,內容由宏利投資管理編製,當中的觀點為撰寫文件當日的意見,並可予以更改。宏利投資管理乃根據其認為可靠的來源編匯或得出本文件的資料及/或分析,惟對其準確性、正確性、有用性及完整性概不發表任何聲明,對因使用有關資料及/或分析而引致的任何損失亦概不負責。有關組合的投資項目、資產分配或於不同國家分布的投資均屬過往的資料,並非日後投資組合的指標,日後的投資組合將有所改變。宏利投資管理、其聯屬公司或彼等之任何董事、高級職員或僱員,對任何人士倚賴或不倚賴本文件所載資料行事而引致的任何直接或間接損失、損害或任何其他後果,概不承擔法律責任或其他責任。

本文件的部份資料可能包含就日後發生的事件、目標、管理規定或其他估計所作出的預測或其他前瞻性陳述。該等事件並不一定會發生,並可能與本文件所載的情況存在重大差異。本文件載有關於金融市場發展趨勢的陳述乃按照現時的市況作出,有關市況會出現變化,並會因市場隨後發生的事件或其他原因而改變。本文件的資料僅供參考,並不構成代表宏利投資管理向任何人士提出買賣任何證券的建議、專業意見、要約或邀請。本文件的資料不得視為現時或過去的建議,或游說買賣任何投資產品或採納任何投資策略的要約。本文件所載的所有資料概不構成投資、法律、會計或稅務意見,或任何投資或策略適用於閣下個別情況的聲明,或構成向閣下提出的個人建議。 過往回報並不預示未來業績。

投資涉及風險。投資者不應只單靠本資料而作出投資決定,而應仔細閱讀銷售文件(如適用),以獲取詳細資料,包括任何投資產品的風險因素、收費及產品特點。

專有信息 — 未經宏利投資管理事先同意,不得以任何形式或就任何目的向任何第三方複製、分發、傳閱、散播、刊登或披露本文件全部或任何部分內容。

本文件由宏利投資管理(香港)有限公司屬下分部宏利投資管理(亞洲)刊發。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會並未有審閱此文件。

505075

確認