Skip to main content
Back

Indian Equities

2019 was an eventful year for Indian equities, as they posted moderate gains  amid a raft of global challenges and domestic opportunities. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) was elected for a second term in April. After some initial hesitation, it embarked upon an ambitious reform agenda, including privatisation of state-owned enterprises and supply-side reforms such as a reduction in the nation’s corporate tax rate. In this 2020 outlook, Rana Gupta, India Equity Specialist, explains why Indian equities are poised for continuing positive performance this year on the back of long-term structural opportunities provided by the “3R’s” (Recycle, Rebuild, and Reinvestment) and positive cyclical catalysts.

2020 investment opportunities based on the existing growth foundation

Our 2020 outlook is based on our long-term view of the opportunities in Indian equities that will emerge over the next three-to-five years. In particular, we believe that investors should understand how previous government structural reforms over the past three years, which we refer to as the “4F’s”2, laid a critical foundation for India’s economic growth agenda. As a result, India’s economy has become more formal with better public infrastructure and healthier private-sector banks. 

The “3R’s” can drive opportunities in 2020 and beyond 

With these fundamental building blocks in place, we believe that the Indian government has a unique opportunity to revitalise investment-led economic growth through the 3R’s: Recycle, Rebuild, and Reinvest3:  

  • Recycle – Funding the government’s spending needs through the sale of state-owned enterprise (SOE) assets.  
  • Rebuild – Aggregating savings by providing tax cuts to corporations and the middle class. 
  • Reinvest – Providing incentives for manufacturing firms to reinvest such savings to substitute imports and increase the country’s global market share of exports. 

In 2019, the government has made notable progress with this agenda, including the selling of   SOE assets, slashing the corporate tax rate from 30% to 22%, and offering newly-incorporated manufacturing firms a preferential tax rate of 15%4. Further reforms to improve the business environment were also introduced5.  Finally, we are closely watching the government’s progress on labour reform: A bill was recently introduced to simplify many of the country’s rigid labour laws.

Structural and cyclical factors compose positive macro backdrop in 2020

In 2020, we believe that the Indian government will propose further reforms based on the 3R’s. These should provide a virtuous growth cycle that not only improves India’s near-term growth prospects but also increases the country’s long-term competitiveness on a structural basis.

In 2019, we saw an active government policy response to decelerating economic growth: active fiscal policy (including tax cuts) coupled with monetary easing by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI)’s multiple rate cuts6 and monetary intervention. 

This year, we expect to see positive cyclical factors emerging from fiscal impulse and lower interest rates. Although the corporate tax cuts may lead to a moderate rise in the fiscal deficit, our estimate has risen from 3.3% of GDP to 3.7%. We envisage only mild pressure on both rates and the rupee, as benign global liquidity and decelerating domestic inflation afford room for the RBI to continue with its accommodative policy. 

Overall, we expect GDP growth to bottom out during the fourth quarter of CY72019 and gradually recover from the first quarter of CY2020 onwards. We also expect Indian equity earnings growth to pick up in 2020, led by improving growth, lower interest rates, and a reduced tax burden. 

Government policies are addressing transient challenges

Despite this favourable macro backdrop, we believe investors should also pay attention to a number of near-term transient challenges that will continue in 2020.   

Government reforms have notably bolstered the formal sector over the past few years; however, income levels in the informal sectors have moderated over the same period. Meanwhile, agricultural income has also stagnated due to lower food prices. 

The Indian government has responded by introducing middle-class tax cuts and programmes designed to bolster the income prospects for farmers (PM-KISAN8). These measures, coupled with better rainfall during monsoons and other welfare measures focused on housing and health, have effectively addressed such challenges. 

Other significant challenges include credit growth and market liquidity. Credit growth among Non-Banking Financial Companies (NBFCs) has steadily declined due to a freeze in the wholesale money market during most of 2019. Recently, two government-sponsored schemes targeting NBFCs and uncompleted real estate projects (which had loans from NBFCs) have led to lower financial stress and some signs of thawing of the wholesale money market.    

Constructive on companies that can benefit from the 3R’s

We are generally constructive on companies with one or more of the following attributes that can benefit from the 3R’s investment theme: 

  • Economic formalisation should continue. We envisage that formal companies should continue to gain market share from less formal companies. 
  • Businesses that were heavily taxed will now receive large tax savings to reinvest; 
  • Businesses with the opportunity to deploy cash through increased capital expenditures that can boost growth (due to the lower corporate tax rate on new investments,  incremental returns should be higher); 
  • Domestic manufacturing-related companies that can substitute imports and competitive export products. 

At the sector level, we are positive on large private sector banks. We expect that they may gain deposit and loan market share, as well as benefit from potential lower credit costs. We also like building materials where lower interest rates should drive real-estate demand. We have already seen a significant improvement in the affordability of real estate and inventory levels have corrected. 

From an import substitution angle, we like select consumer durable companies; from an export point of view, we like engineering and chemical companies where India is slowly gaining global market share. 

Conclusion

Overall, we believe Indian equities are poised for further gains in 2020.  Structurally, the 3R’s provide a robust framework to continue important reforms.  Cyclically, potentially faster economic growth, coupled with flexible fiscal policy and accommodative monetary policy, should boost economic prospects.  When combined, these positive factors should provide ample opportunities for investors in 2020.

Rana Gupta, India Equity Specialist
  1. MSCI India posted a year-to-date gain of7.67% through 18December 2019, Bloomberg, total return returns in US dollars.  It is not possible to invest directly in an index.  
  2. Manulife Investment Management: Four F’s are key positive drivers for Indian equities. 19 January 2019. The Four "F's" are Formalisation, Fiscal stability, Financialisation, and (Re)Forms on banking asset quality.
  3. Manulife Investment Management: “India’s unique opportunity to lift growth”, 10 May 2019. 
  4. These reforms were announced in October 2019, with the manufacturing incentives valid for newly incorporated firms after 1 October 2019 and starting production before March 2023. 
  5. As per the World Bank’s latest Doing Business Report, India has recorded a jump of 14 positions to 63rd rank among 190 countries against its earlier rank of 77. In terms of parameters, India’s performance improved in 7 out of 10 indicators with significant improvements registered in ‘Resolving Insolvency’, 'Dealing with Construction Permits', ‘Registering Property’, ‘Trading across Borders’ and ‘Paying Taxes’.
  6. The RBI cut interest rates by 135 bps in 2019. 
  7. CY is the acronym for calendar year.
  8. Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi (PM-KISAN) is a Central Sector scheme with 100% funding from Government of India. The Scheme is effective from 1.12.2018. Under the Scheme an income support of Rs.6000/- per year is provided to all farmer families across the country in three equal installments of Rs.2000/- each every four months.

Disclaimers

Investing involves risks, including the potential loss of principal. Financial markets are volatile and can fluctuate significantly in response to company, industry, political, regulatory, market, or economic developments. These risks are magnified for investments made in emerging markets. Currency risk is the risk that fluctuations in exchange rates may adversely affect the value of a portfolio’s investments.

The information provided does not take into account the suitability, investment objectives, financial situation, or particular needs of any specific person. You should consider the suitability of any type of investment for your circumstances and, if necessary, seek professional advice.

This material, intended for the exclusive use by the recipients who are allowable to receive this document under the applicable laws and regulations of the relevant jurisdictions, was produced by, and the opinions expressed are those of, Manulife Investment Management as of the date of this publication, and are subject to change based on market and other conditions. The information and/or analysis contained in this material have been compiled or arrived at from sources believed to be reliable, but Manulife Investment Management does not make any representation as to their accuracy, correctness, usefulness, or completeness and does not accept liability for any loss arising from the use of the information and/or analysis contained. The information in this material may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events, targets, management discipline, or other expectations, and is only as current as of the date indicated. The information in this document, including statements concerning financial market trends, are based on current market conditions, which will fluctuate and may be superseded by subsequent market events or for other reasons. Manulife Investment Management disclaims any responsibility to update such information.

Neither Manulife Investment Management or its affiliates, nor any of their directors, officers or employees shall assume any liability or responsibility for any direct or indirect loss or damage or any other consequence of any person acting or not acting in reliance on the information contained herein. All overviews and commentary are intended to be general in nature and for current interest. While helpful, these overviews are no substitute for professional tax, investment or legal advice. Clients should seek professional advice for their particular situation. Neither Manulife, Manulife Investment Management, nor any of their affiliates or representatives is providing tax, investment or legal advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. This material was prepared solely for informational purposes, does not constitute a recommendation, professional advice, an offer or an invitation by or on behalf of Manulife Investment Management to any person to buy or sell any security or adopt any investment strategy, and is no indication of trading intent in any fund or account managed by Manulife Investment Management. No investment strategy or risk management technique can guarantee returns or eliminate risk in any market environment. Diversification or asset allocation does not guarantee a profit nor protect against loss in any market. Unless otherwise specified, all data is sourced from Manulife Investment Management.

Manulife Investment Management

Manulife Investment Management is the global wealth and asset management segment of Manulife Financial Corporation. We draw on more than 150 years of financial stewardship to partner with clients across our institutional, retail, and retirement businesses globally. Our specialist approach to money management includes the highly differentiated strategies of our fixed-income, specialized equity, multi-asset solutions, and private markets teams—along with access to specialized, unaffiliated asset managers from around the world through our multimanager model.

These materials have not been reviewed by, are not registered with any securities or other regulatory authority, and may, where appropriate, be distributed by the following Manulife entities in their respective jurisdictions. Additional information about Manulife Investment Management may be found at www.manulifeam.com.

Australia: Hancock Natural Resource Group Australasia Pty Limited, Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Brazil: Hancock Asset Management Brasil Ltda. Canada: Manulife Investment Management Limited, Manulife Investment Management Distributors Inc., Manulife Investment Management (North America) Limited, Manulife Investment Management Private Markets (Canada) Corp. China: Manulife Overseas Investment Fund Management (Shanghai) Limited Company. European Economic Area and United Kingdom: Manulife Investment Management (Europe) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, Manulife Investment Management (Ireland) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. Hong Kong: Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Indonesia: PT Manulife Aset Manajemen Indonesia. Japan: Manulife Asset Management (Japan) Limited. Malaysia: Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad (formerly known as Manulife Asset Management Services Berhad) 200801033087 (834424-U). Philippines: Manulife Asset Management and Trust Corporation. Singapore: Manulife Investment Management (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. (Company Registration No. 200709952G). Switzerland: Manulife IM (Switzerland) LLC. Taiwan: Manulife Investment Management (Taiwan) Co. Ltd. Thailand: Manulife Asset Management (Thailand) Company Limited. United States: John Hancock Investment Management LLC, Manulife Investment Management (US) LLC, Hancock Capital Investment Management, LLC and Hancock Natural Resource Group, Inc. Vietnam: Manulife Investment Fund Management (Vietnam) Company Limited. 

Manulife Investment Management, the Stylized M Design, and Manulife Investment Management & Stylized M Design are trademarks of The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company and are used by it, and by its affiliates under license. 

506154

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回

印度股票

對印度股票市場來說,2019年是不平凡的一年,隨著環球挑戰和本土機會湧現,印度股票在年內錄得溫和升幅1。國家民主聯盟(NDA)在4月連續兩屆贏得國會選舉。國家民主聯盟上任初期略為猶疑不決,但其後著手推動目標宏遠的改革議程,包括國營企業私有化和削減全國企業稅率等從供應方面入手的改革。在本文中,印度股票專家Rana Gupta剖析為何在 「3R's」政策(循環流轉(Recycle)、重建儲蓄(Rebuild)和再投資(Reinvestment)政策帶來的長期結構性投資機遇、以及利好周期因素下,印度股票在今年有望持續錄得正面表現。

以現有增長基礎為本的2020年投資機遇

我們採取長遠觀點,根據印度股票將在未來三至五年湧現的投資機遇作出2020年前景展望,尤其是我們相信投資者應理解在過去三年,政府的結構改革(我們稱之為「4F's2)如何為印度經濟增長奠下重要基礎。正因如此,印度經濟越趨規範化,公共基建日益完善,私營銀行亦變得更為穩健。

「3R's」可推動2020年及往後的投資機遇

隨著這些基礎條件準備就緒,我們相信印度政府坐擁獨特機遇,可透過「3R's」(循環流轉、重建儲蓄和再投資)3重振投資主導的經濟增長。  

  • 循環流轉(Recycle) – 透過出售國營企業資產,為政府開支需要提供資金。  
  • 重建儲蓄(Rebuild) – 寬減企業和中產階層稅項以增加儲蓄。 
  • 再投資(Reinvest) – 為製造業提供誘因,把儲蓄資金再投資以取代進口,並增加印度出口佔環球市場的份額。 

回顧2019年,政府在「3R's」議程上取得顯著進展,包括:成功出售國營企業資產;企業稅率由30%下調至22%,以及給予新成立的製造業公司15%優惠稅率4。當局亦加推改革措施,以提升營商環境5。我們正密切注視勞工改革進展:當局近期推出一項法案,以簡化國內多條僵化的勞工法例。

結構和周期因素構成2020年有利的宏觀環境

踏入2020年,我們相信印度政府將根據「3R's」議題加推改革建議。有關改革措施可望令印度增長周期處於正軌,不但可改善較近期的增長前景,亦可長遠提升國家的結構性競爭力。

在2019年,政府積極以政策應對經濟增長放緩的趨勢:以積極財政政策(包括減稅)配合印度儲備銀行的寬鬆貨幣措施(包括多次減息6和干預貨幣)。 

展望2020年,預期財政手段和減息措施將為印度經濟帶來正面的周期因素。雖然寬減企業稅可能導致政府財赤略為增加,因此我們對財赤佔國內生產總值比率的估算已由3.3%調高至3.7%,但預料只會為利率和印度盧比帶來溫和壓力,原因是環球資金流動性利好,加上當地通脹放緩,足以為印度儲備銀行提供延續寬鬆政策的空間。 

整體而言,印度國內生產總值增長可望在2019曆年第四季見底,並在2020曆年首季起逐步回復動力。此外,我們預期在經濟增長改善、減息和稅務負擔減少的帶動下,印度股票盈利增長將在2020年回升。

政府政策應對稍遜即逝的挑戰

儘管宏觀經濟環境利好,但我們認為投資者亦應提防多項將在2020年延續的短期和暫時性挑戰。   

政府改革在過去數年顯著帶動正規行業,但同期的非正規行業收入增長溫和。與此同時,食品價格下降,導致農產品方面收入呆滯。 

有見及此,印度政府推出中產階層減稅措施和旨在提升農民收入前景的補貼計劃(PM-KISAN)7。透過這些措施,加上雨季期間的降雨情況改善,以及其他專注於住屋和醫療的福利措施,有效應對上述挑戰。 

印度亦面對其他重大挑戰,包括信貸增長和市場流動性。在2019年大部份時間,大額貨幣市場交易遭凍結,因此非銀行金融機構的信貸增長穩步放緩。近期,政府推出兩項以非銀行金融機構和未完工房地產項目(向非銀行金融機構借貸)為對象的資助計劃,一定程度紓緩大額貨幣市場的資金壓力。

看好可受惠於「3R's」的企業

我們大致看好可受惠於「3R's」投資主題的公司,這些公司均享有以下一項或以上的特質: 

  • 經濟正規化應可持續,因此預期規範化的公司可繼續從較欠正規化公司爭取市場份額。
  • 稅務負擔沉重的企業將可獲得大額稅務省免,繼而進行再投資; 
  • 有機會動用現金以增加資本開支,從而刺激增長的企業(新投資的企業稅率降低,遞增回報應可增加); 
  • 生產可替代進口和具競爭力出口產品的本土製造業相關公司。 

在行業層面,我們看好大型私營銀行。預期這些銀行可增加存款和貸款市場份額,並受惠於信貸成本可能下降。由於減息應可帶動房地產需求,我們亦青睞建材業。目前,房地產負擔比率已見顯著改善,庫存水平亦已調整。 

從進口替代角度來看,我們偏好個別消費耐用品公司;從出口角度來看,我們看好工程和化工企業,印度在這兩個行業的環球市場份額緩步增長。 

總結 

總括而言,我們認為印度股票有望在2020年延續升勢。結構方面,「3R's」提供穩固的框架,有助政府繼續推行重大改革。周期性因素方面,經濟增長有望加快,加上當局推行靈活財政政策和寬鬆貨幣政策,應可提振經濟前景。展望2020年,這些利好因素可望多管齊下,為投資者帶來充裕的投資機遇。  

Rana Gupta, 印度股票專家
  1. 在年初至2019年12月18日,MSCI明晟印度指數報升7.67%,彭博資訊,總回報以美元計算。投資者不可直接投資於指數。  
  2. 宏利投資管理。《“4F's” – 印度股票的四大動力》,2019年1月19日。“4F's”是指正規化(Formalisation)、財政穩健(Fiscal stability)、金融化(Financialisation)和銀行資產質素改革((Re)Forms on banking asset quality)。
  3. 宏利投資管理:《印度:提升經濟增長的獨特機會》,2019年5月10日。 
  4. 當局在2019年10月公布有關改革,當中包括為2019年10月1日後成立,並於2023年3月前投入生產的新製造業公司提供誘因。 
  5. 根據世界銀行最新《營商環境報告》,印度在190個國家中排名第63位,較去年的第77位躍升14位。在指標得分方面,綜觀10項指標,印度有七項的表現改善,尤其是「辦理破產」、「辦理施工許可證」、「登記財產」、「跨境貿易」和「納稅」的得分顯著提高。
  6. 印度儲備銀行在2019年累計減息135基點。 
  7. 收入補貼計劃(Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi)是一項由中央機關推行的計劃,由印度政府全數出資。計劃於2018年12月1日生效。根據該計劃,當局向全國所有農民家庭提供每年6,000印度盧比的收入援助,分三期等額發放,即每四個月發放2,000印度盧比。

免責聲明

宏利投資管理是宏利金融的環球財富及資產管理分部。本文件只供相關司法權區適用法例及規例容許收取本文件的收件人使用,內容由宏利投資管理編製,當中的觀點為撰寫文件當日的意見,並可予以更改。宏利投資管理乃根據其認為可靠的來源編匯或得出本文件的資料及/或分析,惟對其準確性、正確性、有用性及完整性概不發表任何聲明,對因使用有關資料及/或分析而引致的任何損失亦概不負責。有關組合的投資項目、資產分配或於不同國家分布的投資均屬過往的資料,並非日後投資組合的指標,日後的投資組合將有所改變。宏利投資管理、其聯屬公司或彼等之任何董事、高級職員或僱員,對任何人士倚賴或不倚賴本文件所載資料行事而引致的任何直接或間接損失、損害或任何其他後果,概不承擔法律責任或其他責任。

本文件的部份資料可能包含就日後發生的事件、目標、管理規定或其他估計所作出的預測或其他前瞻性陳述。該等事件並不一定會發生,並可能與本文件所載的情況存在重大差異。本文件載有關於金融市場發展趨勢的陳述乃按照現時的市況作出,有關市況會出現變化,並會因市場隨後發生的事件或其他原因而改變。本文件的資料僅供參考,並不構成代表宏利投資管理向任何人士提出買賣任何證券的建議、專業意見、要約或邀請。本文件的資料不得視為現時或過去的建議,或游說買賣任何投資產品或採納任何投資策略的要約。本文件所載的所有資料概不構成投資、法律、會計或稅務意見,或任何投資或策略適用於閣下個別情況的聲明,或構成向閣下提出的個人建議。 過往回報並不預示未來業績。

投資涉及風險。投資者不應只單靠本資料而作出投資決定,而應仔細閱讀銷售文件(如適用),以獲取詳細資料,包括任何投資產品的風險因素、收費及產品特點。

專有信息 — 未經宏利投資管理事先同意,不得以任何形式或就任何目的向任何第三方複製、分發、傳閱、散播、刊登或披露本文件全部或任何部分內容。

本文件由宏利投資管理(香港)有限公司屬下分部宏利投資管理(亞洲)刊發。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會並未有審閱此文件。

506154

確認