Skip to main content
Back

Multi-Asset

Risk – it’s a word that all investors should be familiar with but may not be at the forefront of their minds when making investment decisions. Yet it should be. More often than not, retail investors follow short-term headlines and consequently may miss opportunities that could help them meet their objectives. Luke Browne, Head of Asset Allocation (Asia), shares the multi-asset outlook for 2020.

Within our asset allocation team, we believe in adopting both a global and regional approach to investment allocations. Even more critically, we must discern risk and opportunities both across and within asset classes – whether this is growth versus value, defensive or cyclical equities, the varied credit risk profiles/capital structures present within fixed income or the countries and sectors in both. 

Skilled asset allocation means possessing a big-picture view of prevailing global macroeconomic conditions coupled with specific on-the-ground knowledge. In this way, your long-term portfolios can be managed in a well-diversified manner, which acts as a bedrock that enables us to navigate the evolving market conditions and investment opportunities we identify.

Despite potential market headwinds, we believe that the investing environment in 2020 offers opportunity, guided by three key global themes.

Trade, the Fed, and China

  1. Trade policy – Talk of an agreement on US-China trade has been a crucial driver of market sentiment this year. In the short term, there may be more positive headlines around tariffs. However, a more significant underlying risk is the ongoing uncertainty around the future of trade not only between the US and China but also China and the rest of the world. Supply chains have been severely disrupted and this is likely to be the new norm in the coming year, putting structural downside pressure on global trade and growth. The broader uncertainty surrounding global trade means that safe-haven assets will be in demand, which should provide support for the US dollar.
  2. The Fed and US growth – Central banks in both developed and emerging markets continue to pursue accommodative monetary policies.  Recent rate cuts and balance sheet expansion by the Fed should help to ease financial conditions and support rate-sensitive sectors. The US consumer has held up well, and we expect at least a few more quarters of growth in the world’s largest economy. We do not foresee a technical recession in the near term, given the stance of the Fed, and would view overly negative sentiment as an opportunistic entry point. Careful scrutiny of evolving financial conditions later into 2020 and 2021 will be critical to understanding emerging downside risks.
  3. China growth – Long regarded as the engine of global economic growth, we feel that in the short term, the Chinese economy will, at best, stabilise. The subsequent “positive feedthrough” to the region and global trade will likely be much more muted than before. Over the longer term, China’s ongoing transition towards a consumer-focused economy, and with it developed-market status, will have global implications farther down the road. We don’t expect any “big bang” policy stimulus from China, as we saw in 2008/2009, 2013/2014 and more recently in 2016, but rather conventional monetary policy will benefit the domestic economy. 

Global and Asian opportunities and risks

Moving into 2020, we hold a constructive view of many global risk assets across asset classes. Structurally lower interest rates are a vital driver of the ongoing “search for yield”, and this investor pursuit will favour asset classes that can offer investors positive real yields in a world where negative-yielding debt now tops US$12.5 trillion1

In the near-term, we expect emerging-market central banks, particularly those in Asia, to continue with monetary easing. However, any easing from China is expected to be mild by historical comparison and focused on the domestic economy, rather than globally. Our longer-term strategic view is that the quality of emerging-market debt is improving on a structural basis and offers a diversified return to US high yield and loans. We also favour the “carry” that the asset class offers. Within the group, we expect local-currency sovereign debt to provide robust returns. Broadly speaking, we believe that emerging-market debt – and particularly credit – stands out from a total return perspective. 

Breaking it down further by looking within Asia, our short-term preference (from a valuation perspective) is for H-shares over onshore Chinese equities. Momentum in onshore Chinese names has been waning, although there may be some near-term signs of stabilisation in PMI’s. The ongoing unrest in Hong Kong continues to unsettle the market. Meanwhile, in South and Southeast Asia, we maintain exposure through a broad range of strategies within our Fund of Fund multi-asset portfolios. We generally have a positive view on these economies given they are less exposed to trade ructions and primarily driven by domestic consumption (think of places such as India, Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines). Over a longer time frame, we still see many sources of potential growth in Asia, particularly if the region embraces digital, becomes a sustained leader in AI, big data, and robotics. China still has significant room to develop, given its GDP per capita in 2019 was recorded at US$10,000 (16% of the US)2.

Elsewhere, there are potential opportunities for a re-rating in Europe given continued easing in the eurozone, the compelling valuations on offer, stabilising manufacturing activity, and firmer business confidence. We expect a continuation of “easy” monetary policy, as central banks are constrained by the low growth, low inflation conundrum. A key risk for Europe remains the banking sector.

Also, a reduction in Brexit-related uncertainty should afford opportunistic positioning in both sterling and UK equities.

On our radar

Looking ahead, the chances of a broad-based increase in risk-asset volatility might reduce as global central banks are committed to accommodative monetary policies. However, we will be mindful of specific volatility in individual asset classes and explicit market risks. Corporate debt may also cause some concern, but as we touched on earlier this means responsibly managing downside risks in a world rife with uncertainty. For us, risk management has always been and will continue to be, part of our DNA and integral to our portfolio construction and investment process.

Our asset allocation view

Chart showing Short-term (6-12 months) asset allocation view
Luke Browne, Head of Multi-Asset Allocation (Asia)
  1. Bloomberg, as of November 2019
  2. International Monetary Fund, 2019.

Disclaimers

Investing involves risks, including the potential loss of principal. Financial markets are volatile and can fluctuate significantly in response to company, industry, political, regulatory, market, or economic developments. These risks are magnified for investments made in emerging markets. Currency risk is the risk that fluctuations in exchange rates may adversely affect the value of a portfolio’s investments.

The information provided does not take into account the suitability, investment objectives, financial situation, or particular needs of any specific person. You should consider the suitability of any type of investment for your circumstances and, if necessary, seek professional advice.

This material, intended for the exclusive use by the recipients who are allowable to receive this document under the applicable laws and regulations of the relevant jurisdictions, was produced by, and the opinions expressed are those of, Manulife Investment Management as of the date of this publication, and are subject to change based on market and other conditions. The information and/or analysis contained in this material have been compiled or arrived at from sources believed to be reliable, but Manulife Investment Management does not make any representation as to their accuracy, correctness, usefulness, or completeness and does not accept liability for any loss arising from the use of the information and/or analysis contained. The information in this material may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events, targets, management discipline, or other expectations, and is only as current as of the date indicated. The information in this document, including statements concerning financial market trends, are based on current market conditions, which will fluctuate and may be superseded by subsequent market events or for other reasons. Manulife Investment Management disclaims any responsibility to update such information.

Neither Manulife Investment Management or its affiliates, nor any of their directors, officers or employees shall assume any liability or responsibility for any direct or indirect loss or damage or any other consequence of any person acting or not acting in reliance on the information contained herein. All overviews and commentary are intended to be general in nature and for current interest. While helpful, these overviews are no substitute for professional tax, investment or legal advice. Clients should seek professional advice for their particular situation. Neither Manulife, Manulife Investment Management, nor any of their affiliates or representatives is providing tax, investment or legal advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. This material was prepared solely for informational purposes, does not constitute a recommendation, professional advice, an offer or an invitation by or on behalf of Manulife Investment Management to any person to buy or sell any security or adopt any investment strategy, and is no indication of trading intent in any fund or account managed by Manulife Investment Management. No investment strategy or risk management technique can guarantee returns or eliminate risk in any market environment. Diversification or asset allocation does not guarantee a profit nor protect against loss in any market. Unless otherwise specified, all data is sourced from Manulife Investment Management.

Manulife Investment Management

Manulife Investment Management is the global wealth and asset management segment of Manulife Financial Corporation. We draw on more than 150 years of financial stewardship to partner with clients across our institutional, retail, and retirement businesses globally. Our specialist approach to money management includes the highly differentiated strategies of our fixed-income, specialized equity, multi-asset solutions, and private markets teams—along with access to specialized, unaffiliated asset managers from around the world through our multimanager model.

These materials have not been reviewed by, are not registered with any securities or other regulatory authority, and may, where appropriate, be distributed by the following Manulife entities in their respective jurisdictions. Additional information about Manulife Investment Management may be found at www.manulifeam.com.

Australia: Hancock Natural Resource Group Australasia Pty Limited, Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Brazil: Hancock Asset Management Brasil Ltda. Canada: Manulife Investment Management Limited, Manulife Investment Management Distributors Inc., Manulife Investment Management (North America) Limited, Manulife Investment Management Private Markets (Canada) Corp. China: Manulife Overseas Investment Fund Management (Shanghai) Limited Company. European Economic Area and United Kingdom: Manulife Investment Management (Europe) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, Manulife Investment Management (Ireland) Ltd. which is authorised and regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. Hong Kong: Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. Indonesia: PT Manulife Aset Manajemen Indonesia. Japan: Manulife Asset Management (Japan) Limited. Malaysia: Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad (formerly known as Manulife Asset Management Services Berhad) 200801033087 (834424-U). Philippines: Manulife Asset Management and Trust Corporation. Singapore: Manulife Investment Management (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. (Company Registration No. 200709952G). Switzerland: Manulife IM (Switzerland) LLC. Taiwan: Manulife Investment Management (Taiwan) Co. Ltd. Thailand: Manulife Asset Management (Thailand) Company Limited. United States: John Hancock Investment Management LLC, Manulife Investment Management (US) LLC, Hancock Capital Investment Management, LLC and Hancock Natural Resource Group, Inc. Vietnam: Manulife Investment Fund Management (Vietnam) Company Limited. 

Manulife Investment Management, the Stylized M Design, and Manulife Investment Management & Stylized M Design are trademarks of The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company and are used by it, and by its affiliates under license. 

505244

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more

The VHIS Office recently discovered a translation error in the Chinese version of the Schedule of Surgical Procedures of the Certified Plan Policy Template. In the fracture/dislocation section of the Surgical Schedule, “clavicle” on the 8th and 12th items was mistranslated as “scapula” and “scapula” on the 13th item was mistranslated as “clavicle”. Manulife has reviewed and revised the relevant product information of Manulife’s VHIS certified plans upon the VHIS Office’s request, and has revised the Chinese version of the certified plans’ policy provisions accordingly. The English version of the policy provisions is not affected. For any enquiries, please contact Manulife’s service hotline at 2108 1188.

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回

多元資產展望

相信投資者對「風險」一詞並不感到陌生,但在作出投資決定時,卻未必經常以風險為首要考慮。誠然,投資者應該首先考慮風險,若零售投資者單憑短期新聞消息進行投資,很可能錯失能達成投資目標機會。在本文,亞洲資產配置團隊主管Luke Brown分享他對多元資產的2020年市場展望。

我們的策略性資產配置團隊認為,在進投資配置時,應考慮分布於環球和地區。更重要的是,我們必須識別資產類別之間、以及同一資產類別內本身的風險與機遇 ─ 不論是增長股對比價值股、防守股或周期股,甚至是固定收益內於不同地區及行業不同水平的信貸風險/資本架構。

技巧卓越的資產配置,意味具有了解環球宏觀經濟的「大局」觀點,同時配合專門的當地市場知識。這樣便可對長線投資組合進行多元管理,並能在這基礎上駕馭市況變動,識別投資機遇。

縱使面對市場潛在阻力,我們相信以下三個關鍵環球主題可為2020年的投資環境帶來機遇。

貿易局勢、聯儲局和中國

1. 貿易政策 - 有關中美達成貿易協議的消息,是今年推動市場氣氛的關鍵動力。即使相關利好消息可能會陸續湧現,不能忽略中國與美國、甚至中國和全球其他地區的貿易關係仍維持不明朗,是市場的潛伏隱憂。貿易供應鏈已經被嚴重干擾,並會成為新一年的新常態,對環球貿易及增長構成結構性壓力。我們認為,圍繞環球貿易的不明朗因素更為廣泛,意味避險資產將備受追捧,可望為美元帶來支持。

2. 聯儲局與美國增長 - 已發展和新興市場央行繼續推行寬鬆貨幣政策。  聯儲局近期減息及在市場買入資產,可望繼續紓緩金融狀況,支持對利率敏感的行業。美國消費活動仍然暢旺,預料這個全球最大經濟體的消費活動最少尚有數個季度錄得增長。鑑於聯儲局採取寬鬆貨幣立場,我們預料當地經濟不會於短期內陷入衰退,並認為過度負面的市場情緒提供入市良機。仔細審視2020年底至2021年的金融狀況變動,是釐清尚待形成的下行風險的關鍵。

3. 中國經濟增長 - 中國長期被視為環球經濟增長的動力,但至少短期而言,我們認為內地經濟最多只能穩定下來,對地區和環球貿易的後續正面影響亦會大不如前。長遠而言,中國持續轉型至消費主導經濟體並晉身「已發展市場」之列,將為全球經濟帶來深遠的影響。我劊預料中國不會如2008年至2009年、 2013年至2014年,以及最近於2016年般推行「震撼性」刺激政策,但會推行傳統貨幣政策以推動當地經濟。 

環球與亞洲的機遇和風險

展望2020年,我們對環球各資產類別的風險資產持相對樂觀的觀點。結構性而言,利率處於偏低水平,持續「物色收益」將成為主要動力。在負孳息率債券總額超過12.5萬億美元1的環境下,上述發展將利好為投資者提供正面實質收益的資產類別。 

短期而言,預料新興市場央行將會進行大規模貨幣寬鬆操作,尤其在亞洲,然而,我們並不預期中國推出規模媲美多年前的貨幣寬鬆措施。我們的長遠策略性觀點是新興市場債券的結構質素正逐漸轉佳,可在美國高收益債券和貸款以外,為投資者帶來分散回報。我們亦偏好這個資產類別的「息差收益」。綜觀這類資產,預料本幣主權債券可提供穩健回報。廣泛而言,我們認為新興市場債券的總回報將會較為顯眼,尤其是企業信貸。 

若進一步細分並審視亞洲市場,我們短期偏好(從估值角度)H股多於中國在岸股票。儘管採購經理指數展現短期靠穩跡象,中國在岸股票的動力正在減弱。另一方面,我們透過多元資產組合內一系列基金工具,維持對南亞和東南亞市場的一定投資。我們普遍看好這些經濟體,因為貿易干擾對其影響較低,當地經濟主要由本土消費帶動,例如:印度、馬來西亞、印尼和菲律賓。較長遠而言,我們在亞洲仍然察見不少潛在增長來源,尤其若這地區推動數碼經濟發展,成為人工智能、大數據和機械人技術的持續領導者。鑑於中國在2017年的人均國內生產總值依然只有10,000美元(相當於美國的16%),因此仍有大量發展空間2

綜觀其他地區,歐元區持續推行寬鬆政策,加上估值吸引,製造業活動呈穩定跡象,因此歐洲有機會出現估值重估。當地經濟增長前景呆滯,通脹低企,預料區內央行仍會維持寬鬆貨幣政策。歐洲市場內的主要風險,仍然是區內的銀行業。另外,英國脫歐相關的不穩定性降低,或許能為英國的股票及英鎊帶來機會。

持續留意市場因素

展望後市,由於全球央行繼續承諾推行寬鬆貨幣政策,風險資產波幅廣泛上升的可能性或會減低。然而,我們將留意個別資產類別的波幅和明確的市場風險。企業債務或會引起憂慮,但正如我們先前指出,這意味市場需在充滿不確定性的環境下,以負責任方式管理下行風險。而對我們來說,風險管理一直是核心元素之一。

我們的資產配置觀點  

Chart showing Short-term (6-12 months) asset allocation view
Luke Browne亞洲資產配置團隊主管
  1.  彭博資訊,截至2019年11月。
  2.   國際貨幣基金組織,2019年。

免責聲明

宏利投資管理是宏利金融的環球財富及資產管理分部。本文件只供相關司法權區適用法例及規例容許收取本文件的收件人使用,內容由宏利投資管理編製,當中的觀點為撰寫文件當日的意見,並可予以更改。宏利投資管理乃根據其認為可靠的來源編匯或得出本文件的資料及/或分析,惟對其準確性、正確性、有用性及完整性概不發表任何聲明,對因使用有關資料及/或分析而引致的任何損失亦概不負責。有關組合的投資項目、資產分配或於不同國家分布的投資均屬過往的資料,並非日後投資組合的指標,日後的投資組合將有所改變。宏利投資管理、其聯屬公司或彼等之任何董事、高級職員或僱員,對任何人士倚賴或不倚賴本文件所載資料行事而引致的任何直接或間接損失、損害或任何其他後果,概不承擔法律責任或其他責任。

本文件的部份資料可能包含就日後發生的事件、目標、管理規定或其他估計所作出的預測或其他前瞻性陳述。該等事件並不一定會發生,並可能與本文件所載的情況存在重大差異。本文件載有關於金融市場發展趨勢的陳述乃按照現時的市況作出,有關市況會出現變化,並會因市場隨後發生的事件或其他原因而改變。本文件的資料僅供參考,並不構成代表宏利投資管理向任何人士提出買賣任何證券的建議、專業意見、要約或邀請。本文件的資料不得視為現時或過去的建議,或游說買賣任何投資產品或採納任何投資策略的要約。本文件所載的所有資料概不構成投資、法律、會計或稅務意見,或任何投資或策略適用於閣下個別情況的聲明,或構成向閣下提出的個人建議。過往回報並不預示未來業績。

投資涉及風險。投資者不應只單靠本資料而作出投資決定,而應仔細閱讀銷售文件(如適用),以獲取詳細資料,包括任何投資產品的風險因素、收費及產品特點。

專有信息 — 未經宏利投資管理事先同意,不得以任何形式或就任何目的向任何第三方複製、分發、傳閱、散播、刊登或披露本文件全部或任何部分內容。

本文件由宏利投資管理(香港)有限公司屬下分部宏利投資管理(亞洲)刊發。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會並未有審閱此文件。

505244

確認