Skip to main content
Back

The Insurance Authority (“IA”) is a new insurance regulator independent of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. The objectives of its establishment are to modernize the insurance industry regulatory infrastructure to facilitate the stable development of the industry, provide better protection for policyowners/policyholders, and comply with the requirement of the International Association of Insurance Supervisors that insurance regulators should be financially and operationally independent of the government and industry.

From 1 January 2018 onwards, a prescribed levy on insurance premiums will be payable to the IA by policyowners/policyholders# via authorized insurance companies pursuant to the Insurance (Levy) Regulation and the Insurance (Levy) Order under the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41) in order to support the operational cost of the IA. The insurance company will then remit the levy payment to the IA. The levy is calculated as a percentage of premiums on insurance policies. Generally, the amount of levy payable for each policy is subject to a cap per policy year.

#Except for certain policies exempted from the levy by law.

The collection of the levy takes effect from 1 January 2018. As an interim measure, Manulife has been paying the levy on behalf of its policyowners/policyholders for policies underwritten by us in HK.

Starting from the policy year commencing on or after 1 January 2019,
For policyholders of group life insurance policies and Occupational Retirement Schemes:
Manulife will continue to pay the levy on your behalf and remit in accordance with the arrangements prescribed by the IA, for a period as determined by us until further notice.

For policyowners of individual insurance policies:
Manulife will collect levy from policyowners at the same time when premium is paid. Policyowners should pay levy together with premium.

Illustrative examples of levy calculation for individual insurance policies:

Example 1
Annualized premium: HK$80,000
Policy Year Date: 1 April 2017

 

Policy Anniversary Date

Levy Rate

 

Levy Cap (HK$) Levy Payable (HK$) Remarks

1 April 2017

0.000%

-

-

-

1 April 2018

0.040%

$40

$32



Manulife has paid the levy on behalf of policyowners.

1 April 2019

0.060%

$60

$48

Manulife will collect levy from policyowners at the same time when premium is paid.

1 April 2020

0.085%

$85

$68

 

1 April 2021

0.100%

$100

$80

 

 

Example 2
Annualized premium: HK$150,000
Policy Year Date: 15 June 2019

 

Policy Anniversary Date

Levy Rate

 

Levy Cap (HK$) Levy Payable (HK$) Remarks

5 June 2019

0.060%

$60

$60

Manulife will collect levy from policyowners at the same time when premium is paid.

$150,000 x 0.060% = $90, which exceeds the levy cap (HK$60) for the relevant policy year, hence the amount of levy payable on the premium due for the policy year commencing on 15 June 2019 is HK$60.

For new individual insurance policies, policyowners can refer to the Proposal for the amount of levy payable.

For existing policies, policyowners can refer to billing notices (if applicable) regarding the levy payable for their individual insurance policies.

It is the policyowner’s obligation to pay the levy. As stated in the law, if a policyowner does not pay the levy as required in a timely manner, the IA may impose on the policyowner a penalty of up to HK$5,000, and may recover the outstanding levy as a civil debt due to the IA. Manulife may send out reminders to policyowner for outstanding levy and report to the IA for levy outstanding for more than 6 months.

However, overdue levy payment will not impact the policyowner’s right on his/her insurance policy or result in policy lapse.

No. It is stipulated in the Insurance (Levy) Regulation that policyowners/policyholders must pay the levy to insurance companies.

Levy will be collected from the policyowner along with the payment of the corresponding premium. Unless specified otherwise, where the premium is settled according to the terms of the policy and/or the instruction of the policyowner through, including without limitation, direct debit from an account specified by the policyowner, deduction from premium dump-in facility, accumulated dividends and/or other entitlements available to the policyowner, automatic premium loan and/or other automatic premium payment options, the levy corresponding to the premium so collected shall be collected at the same time and in the same manner.

Unless indicated otherwise, Manulife will deduct the corresponding levy together with the required premium through autopay. If the withdrawal limit on autopay is not enough to pay the premium and levy at the same time, policyowner is suggested to seek advice from the bank or reset the withdrawal limit with the bank if needed.

(i) Yes. Unless indicated otherwise, any outstanding levy will be deducted from the claims payments upon death claim and claims where the relevant policy will be terminated due to such claim payment.

(ii) Yes. Unless indicated otherwise, any outstanding levy will also be deducted from policy surrender value or maturity benefits.

Yes. Manulife still accepts his/her application for the addition of riders/policy changes if the payable levy is not paid by the policyowner. However, it is the obligation of policyowner to pay the levy in accordance with the Insurance (Levy) Regulation and the Insurance (Levy) Order under the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41).

Yes, levy paid by the policyowner will be fully refunded for policies that are cancelled within cooling off period, irrespective of whether the premium is fully refunded.

To notify policyowners of the new levy arrangement, mass communication has been arranged during the mid of October 2018 to January 2019. Existing policyowners of individual insurance policies will receive communication through SMS, email or mail per the record kept in the Manulife system.

Policyowners/Policyholders can contact Manulife customer service hotline at 2108 1188. Policyowners/Policyholders can also access the IA’s webpage (www.ia.org.hk) or contact the IA’s hotline at 3899 9983 for further information on premium levy collection arrangement.

Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回

保险业监管局(“保监局”)是独立于香港特别行政区政府的新保险业监管机构。保监局的成立目标是确保保险业的规管架构与时并进,促进保险业的稳健发展;为保单持有人提供更佳保障;以及遵行国际保险监督联会有关保险监管机构应在财政和运作上独立于政府及业界的规定。

由2018年1月1日起,根据《保险业条例》(第41 章)下的《保险业(征费)规例》及《保险业(征费)令》,保单持有人#须通过获授权的保险公司向保监局缴交订明的保费征费,以支持保监局的营运成本。保险公司其后会将所收取的征费款项转付予保监局。征费是根据保单保费的百分比计算。一般而言,每张保单须缴付的征费金额均设有按保单年度而定的上限。

#获法例豁免征费的保单除外。

保费征费的措施已于2018年1月1日开始生效。作为临时措施,宏利一直代其保单持有人就我们在香港所承保的保单支付征费。

由2019年1月1日或之后的保单年度起,

对于团体人寿保险保单以及职业退休计划的保单持有人:
在我们指定的期间内,宏利将会继续为阁下支付有关的保费征费及按照保监局订定的方法转付有关的保费征费,直至另行通知。

对于个人保单的保单持有人:
宏利将于保单持有人缴付保费时一并收取征费金额。 保单持有人应在缴付保费时一并缴付征费。

个人保单征费计算例子:

例子 一
年度化保费:港元$80,000
保单生效日:2017年4月1日

 

 

保单周年日 征费率 征费上限
(港元)
应缴征费
(港元)
备注

2017年4月1日

0.000%

-

-

-

2018年4月1日

0.040%

$40

$32

宏利已代保单持有人支付征费。

2019年4月1日

0.060%

$60

$48


宏利将于保单持有人缴付保费时一并收取征费。

2020年4月1日

0.085%

$85

$68

2021年4月1日

0.100%

$100

$80

 

 

例子二
年度化保费:港元$150,000
保单生效日:2019年6月15日

 

保单周年日

征费率 征费上限
(港元)
应缴征费
(港元)
备注

2019年6月15日

0.060%

$60

$60

宏利将于保单持有人缴付保费时一并收取征费。

$150,000 x 0.060% = $90,超出相关保单年度的征费上限港元$60。因此,该保单在2019年6月15日起的保单年度的应缴保费征费为港元$60

新生意个人保单的保单持有人可参阅建议书中的应缴保费征费金额。

至于现有保单方面,保单持有人可以参考缴费通知(如适用)中有关个人保单的应缴保费征费金额。

保单持有人有责任缴付保费征费。根据法例,如保单持有人没有按规定及时缴付保费征费,保监局可处以最高港元$5,000的罚款,亦可循民事程序追讨欠付的征费。宏利可就欠付的征费向保单持有人发出通知,并就逾期六个月或以上的征费向保监局呈报。

然而,逾期保费征费并不会影响保单持有人的保单权益,亦不会构成保单失效。

不可以。根据《保险业(征费)规例》,保单持有人必须向保险公司缴交征费。

宏利将于保单持有人缴付保费时一并收取相应征费。除非另有注明,否则,当保费以根据保单条款和/或保单持有人所指示的方式缴付时,包括但不限于从保单持有人指定的直接付款帐户扣缴、从保单注入款项、累计红利和/或保单持有人的其他适用权益扣除、以自动贷款代缴保费和/或其他自动缴交保费方式,则本公司将于同一时间及以相同方式收取该笔保费的相应征费。

除非另有指明,否则,宏利会通过自动转账方式一并收取保费及相应的保费征费。若现在的提取上限不足以同时支付保费及相应的保费征费,保单持有人可向银行查询或申请重设提取上限。

(i) 会。除非另有指明,任何欠缴保费征费将会从身故赔偿及其他因赔偿导致保单终止的赔偿金中被扣除。

(ii) 会。除非另有指明,任何欠缴保费征费将会从退保价值或期满利益中被扣除。

可以。即使保单持有人尚未缴交应缴保费征费,宏利仍然会受理附加保障或更改保单的申请。然而,保单持有人有责任遵从《保险业条例》(第41 章)下的《保险业(征费)规例》及《保险业(征费)令》缴付征费。

是。在冷静期内取消的保单,无论保费是否全额退还,保单持有人已缴的保费征费都会被全额退还。

有关保费征费的新安排,宏利将会于2018年10月中旬至2019年1月向保单持有人发出通知书。根据宏利系统保存的记录,现有个人保单的保单持有人将会通过短信、电子邮件或邮寄方式收到通知。

保单持有人可以致电宏利客户热线2108 1188。保单持有人亦可访问保监局网站(www.ia.org.hk)或致电保监局热线 3899 9983以获取更多有关保费征费收取安排的资讯。

重要通知

宏利人寿保险(国际)有限公司获悉有个别客户收到怀疑冒称本公司职员的来电。如对来电人士之身份有怀疑,请致电本公司的客户服务热线  (852) 2108 1188 或电邮至service_hk@manulife.com与我们联络。

查看更多
重要通知

宏利人寿保险(国际)有限公司获悉有个别客户收到怀疑冒称本公司职员的来电。如对来电人士之身份有怀疑,请致电本公司的客户服务热线  (852) 2108 1188 或电邮至service_hk@manulife.com与我们联络。

查看更多
确认